Regional Nate…

I didn’t make it into crossfit yesterday because, honestly, I had too many other things on the agenda. But I wanted to get in today because I needed to… At least that’s what I’m telling myself. 🙂

20160518_103052After an 8am meeting at work, I slipped out for the 9:30am class at CrossFit Continuum. Coach Bill was finishing up with the 8:30 class, which had quite a good crowd – Sarah, Maria, Carrie, Melissa & Todd, Adrienne, Danielle, and David. They were still chugging through the end of the day’s insanity and I had an opportunity to play with little JR and Jayda while I stretched a bit.

For the 9:30 class we had Ashley, Joel & Jodi, and Andrea. We started with a 400m jog, did some overhead plate presses, a 30 second handstand hold, some ring rows, and a few kettle bell swings. Once all that was done, we worked through the muscle-up transitions, talked about handstand push-up modifications, and did a few kettle bell snatches to get everything moving…

The workout itself was “Regional Nate” from the CrossFit Games Regional competitions… 10 rounds for time with a 20 minute time cap…

  • 4 strict muscle-ups
  • 7 strict handstand push-ups
  • 12 kettle bell snatches (70/53#)

20160518_103027I don’t know about you, but muscle ups are a pipe dream for me and though I can do a few handstand push-ups, there was no way I was doing a KB snatch with a 70# KB (or even a 53# KB for that matter).

So I scaled the workout…

  • 4 muscle up transitions
  • 4 strict HSPUs (or 4 pike push-ups)
  • 12 KB snatches (first with a 45# KB and then 35#)

I got through 6 full rounds plus 15 reps (6 KB snatches short of finishing the 7th round). It was awful. My shoulders were on fire after the 2nd round.  I dropped to a 35# KB after the 3rd round. I dropped to pike push-ups after 4 rounds. Continual adjustments just to keep going.

Jodi, Andrea, Ashley, and Joel were all chugging along. Joel kept going even after time was up just so he could finish out his 10 rounds. They all did fantastic.

20160518_103040

To say that I’m a wee bit tired after that workout would be an understatement. I should have done better. But at least I kept moving for the most part.

Plus I got to see a few other folks. Jimmy was there post-surgery and he looks like he’s doing well. Drea and Logan and Elizabeth were there getting ready for the advanced class. And I wish Elizabeth well on her move!

So it was a good day… now I need to fire back up so I can get some work done… HA!

Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

