One more in the books this week…

Some days I wonder what the hell I’m thinking. Yesterday I pointed out that I’ve done some sort of work out every day this week and I still went in and did the team workout this morning… My body and I are not on speaking terms unless you count the fact that a few parts of my anatomy are yelling loudly at the moment. ๐Ÿ™‚

So I slept in a little this morning (or at least didn’t get out of bed at 6am), but managed to get a cup of coffee and some breakfast (an egg, ham & cheese bagel) by 8:30. And I made sure my eldest daughter was up by 8:45. My wife and youngest had a full day of soccer and other events planned this morning, so we were on our own.

20160514_105710We headed into CrossFit Continuum about 9:20 and arrived by 9:30 or so. And by 9:45 after looking at the board for the day’s workout I was wondering what the heck I’d gotten myself into.

Coach Stacy put a tough one together today… Two parts with a 5 minute rest in-between.ย Part A had a 20 minute time cap, but most people were done in 13 minutes or less.

  • 20 partner deadlifts (315/245#)
  • 20 handstand push-ups
  • 20 partner deadlifts
  • 20 handstand push-ups
  • 20 more handstand push-ups
  • 20 partner deadlifts
  • 20 handstand push-ups
  • 20 partner deadlifts

And in part B, we had another 20 minutes or so to finish up:

  • 75 chest-to-bar pull-ups
  • 75 kettle-bell swings (53/35#)
  • 75 double-unders
  • 75 overhead squats (95/65#)

Olympic weightsWe partnered up pretty quickly. I think we had 18 people come today give or take, so 9 teams of 2. Marino worked with me and was very patient, so I appreciated it. ๐Ÿ™‚ We did:

  • 315# partner deadlifts
  • regular handstand push-ups (though mine turned out to be 1/2 HSPUs or attempts by the end)
  • he did chest-to-bar and I did regular pull-ups
  • 53# kettle-bell swings
  • he did double-unders and I did singles
  • and we did 75# overhead squats

This was a rough one, folks. We were done with the first part in about 13 minutes. Everybody started part B at about the 18 minute mark. And we were close to the last ones done with the OHS. Marino did the lion’s share of the pull-ups and HSPUs I think. I did ok on the rest and tried to pick up my end of the bargain on the singles (went fast), kettle-bell swings (did 10 reps at a time), and OHS (tried to do 10 reps a few times, though had to drop in my last set of 10 at the 8 mark).

Marino did awesome. Thanks for bearing with my slowness today!! ๐Ÿ™‚

145gwjMickey worked with Kaila and the two banged it out pretty well. It was Mickey’s first crossfit workout in a few months because of school commitments (theater and soccer), but she’s looking forward to getting back to the box more regularly when school is out.

I do have to say I will probably not be doing 6 workouts in a week again for a while. We may take it back a notch to 3 workouts again next week and see how that goes. But I may try to do it again once a month or so if I can swing it. My body was recovering pretty well overnight and seems to like staying in motion, so even as I turn 46 I’m thrilled with the fact that I COULD do it even if I know my body needs more rest between workouts. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway… Great workout folks – amazing work across the board.

And thanks for the birthday shout out at the end – Monica’s birthday was today and mine was tomorrow. I would have been ok if y’all forgot about mine! Thanks for the piece of fruit tart, Lori!!

Now I need to sign up for the in-house competition in June and our Murph workout that’s coming right up. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

