Friday Hero WOD?

Usually, on a good week, I’ll get into the box three times. Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday are the usual suspects for those days. And sometimes I’ll add a Saturday.

tootsie-pop-owlApparently this week I am channeling my inner 30 year old before my birthday this weekend (I’ll be 46)…

Usually I skip the Friday workouts. Fridays are Hero WOD days and involve running. Nothing against the heroes themselves, but running and I don’t get along. I don’t think we’re on speaking terms at the moment beyond the occasional brush with a 400m warm-up jog.

So what the heck was I doing going to the box on a Friday with my wife today for a workout? She talked me into it. Have I lost my mind?

143gjpProbably. I think the answer I’m looking for is “probably.”

Arrived for an 8:30 class and we were definitely not alone. We had 19 people in today’s class. Yes, you read that correctly. We had so many people that Coach Drea had to change the workout into a team WOD for our class. There was Jonathan & Sarah, Lori, Maria, Carrie, Todd & Melissa, Danielle, Debbie, Daniel & Monica, Connie, Lisa, Jenny, David, and Anne (all registered) and we had at least one other as well. It was insane. I’ve never seen that many people come to a class before.

We started with a 400m jog and came back in to do some mountain climbers, towel ring-outs, arms over & back, some 1/2 HSPUs (or inverted push-ups), side-hops, bounding, and a 30 second handstand hold (or plank). There were so many folks that the wall was full, so I ended up doing inverted push-ups and planks, which was fine!

When all that was done, we talked about the day’s workout. As written, we would have done “Jack” today… A 20 minute AMRAP of:

  • 115/80 pound Push press, 10 reps
  • 10 KB Swings, 1.5/1 pood (53/35#)
  • 10 Box jumps, 24/20 inch box

With as many folks as we had, we changed it to a 30-minute partner workout where one person could work at a time. The goal was to go unbroken on the 10 reps, but we didn’t really do that… Our group had three people so we adjusted it even further to be 15 reps for each movement.

I worked with Jonathan and David and we did a 30-minute AMRAP of:

  • push press, 15 reps (95# for Jonathan and I and 75# for David)
  • KB swings, 15 reps (53# for Jonathan and I and 45# for David)
  • Box jumps, 15 reps (Jonathan and David did 24″ box jumps and I did step-ups)

All together we made it through 14 complete rounds plus 15 more push presses. I had a few rounds where I did 15 KB swings unbroken (maybe 5 or 6 of the 14 rounds), but for the rest of the movements I usually did 5 or 8 reps at a time and passed off to the next person.

20160513_092817

Jonathan and David did awesome!

I think we were all pretty exhausted by the end. And my shoulders were definitely on fire.

Great work everybody! Now I just have to convince my body that a Saturday morning Team workout will be ok tomorrow… 🙂

20160513_092831

Leave a Reply

