Deadlifts for Days

Today marked the third actual workout at the box for me this week, though I’ll count my at-home workout on Tuesday as a notch on that belt as well. That’s 4 days in a row. I’m a little crazy apparently.

1415wnMade it in for an 8:30 class with my wife and Coach Bill. We were joined by a bunch of other folks – Danielle, Jonathan and Sarah, KC, Carrie, Melissa, David, and Joel. We started out with an 800m run. Um, yay? And then we did some other warm-ups before we did the fun game where we had to catch a pvc pipe in a circle and do burpees (my bad) if it fell. It was all meant to help us stretch our hammies and glutes a bit for the deadlifts.

We did a little warming up of deadlift movements with an empty barbell and then broke up to do today’s workout. Deadlifts…

  • Deadlift 5-5-3-3-3-1-1-1-1 reps
  • Start with your sets of 5 at 75% of your one rep max, the 3s at 85%, and the 1s at 95%

Barbell_Deadlift

I worked with David. He did phenomenally well today. His old one rep was 225#, so he started at 185# for his 5s, then 205# for his 3s, and when we got to the singles we played a bit. He did one at 225#, then we bumped him to 235#, and he ended with two reps at 245#. That’s a 20# PR, folks. And I think he could have easily gone up a bit more.

Danielle and Evie worked together and worked up to a heavy deadlift of 255#. Other folks got even higher. I know Jonathan attempted 405# a couple of times. Crazy.

20160512_094141I warmed up at 225# and then jumped to 275# for my 5s, 295# for my 3s, and 315# for my singles. My one rep is technically 355#, so the numbers should have been 265#, 300#, and 335# but I didn’t quite get there. The 315# felt heavy. šŸ™‚

I’ll take it however. That’s about 8,000 pounds that I moved over the course of 30 minutes. 4 tons. Crazy to ponder that. šŸ™‚

We did a little bit of stretching when we were done and now I’m back to work…

Tomorrow is a hero WOD and I might attempt it – but I probably won’t. šŸ™‚ But we’ll try and make the Team WOD on Saturday.

Have a great day, folks! And great work today!

 

One thought on “Deadlifts for Days”

Leave a Reply

