Squat Cleans and Push Jerks, oh my

It may seem like I skipped yesterday, but I didn’t. I promise!

Our trainers had the box closed for part of yesterday to cheer on a young athlete doing a track and field event all morning. And that was awesome. Family comes first in all things and it sounds like he did well! πŸ™‚

AngieTo compensate a little, I decided to do a mini workout at home at lunch time after working for 6 hours straight…

It started out being a mini-Angie. Full Angie is 100 pull-ups, 100 push-ups, 100 sit-ups, and 100 air squats for time. We don’t have a pull-up bar set up at home yet (eventually I hope to), but I set up downstairs to do the push-ups, sit-ups, and air squats for time.

Though you’re supposed to do all of one movement before you move to the next, I did sets of 25 push-ups, 25 sit-ups, and 25 air squats. Better to break it up for me. In the middle of the second set, our dog – Storm, the Weimeraner – decided she didn’t like what I was doing and got in the middle of it all. So I finished with 50-50-50 in about 10 minutes. Not awful and it got me up, moving, and sweaty, so I’ll count it as good.

Plus there was bonding with the dog, so that was a bonus. πŸ™‚

Today I went in for an 8:30 class with my wife and there were a ton of people! The two of us, Danielle, Lori, Sarah, Ellen, Carrie (who was taking pictures), Jenny, Todd & Melissa, Debbie, and David… But it feels like there were at least three more folks there that aren’t in the roster for the class – seemed like there were at least 15 of us. Larry was there as well, helping Drea where he could.

Front-squatWe started with a 400m jog, then came back to do some overhead weight plate presses and Cossack squats. And then we did a whole lot of work on squat cleans and push jerks with an empty barbell. Honestly it was good – been a while since I’ve done squat cleans in any quantity.

The workout itself was 5 minutes of as many reps as possible:

  • 165/115-lb. squat clean and jerks

I am still nursing this damn groin pull. It’s not quite 100%. But I was worried about the weight. Even so, I worked up to 115#, added two 10# weights for 135#, and then 5# on the ends for 145#. That was supposedly the “intermediate” weight for the workout.

My goal was to shoot for 20 reps in 5 minutes. That’s one rep every 15 seconds. I ended up with a score of 10 completed reps. I think I attempted it 13 times but three of them were aborted in various parts of the movement – once I did a hang clean instead of a squat clean and twice I did the clean but couldn’t push it overhead.

Considering that a few of our better athletes managed 25 reps at prescribed weights, I didn’t do all that hot. But then again, squat cleans are not my friend. πŸ™‚ So I’m not all that concerned.

The groin and quad are sore, but not too bad. I need to do a little more with ice, heat, and general care I think – but we’re getting there.

Afterwards we were supposed to do the ROMWOD, but when I peeked into the yoga room it was full of people (probably 12-14 people all together) and I bowed out. Instead, I went back and did some couch stretch and pigeon stretch before having a long chat with Jimmy. It’s been a while since we chatted, so it was good to catch up.

Now… well, now I’m back to work and trying to fit square pegs into round holes. Wish me luck. πŸ™‚

Great work everybody! And I hope the 9:30 class had a good time – Maria, Ashley, Larry, Adrienne, Jodi, and Kristen were there with Jayda the guard dog watching on. πŸ™‚

Thanks Drea for keeping everybody moving!

One thought on “Squat Cleans and Push Jerks, oh my”

Leave a Reply

