Mercury has tight orbits

Today we finished up with the last workout of the Hylete/C3 challenge, called Mercury. And on the surface it didn’t look too bad – which is exactly why I should have been concerned.

mercury_precessionEv and I arrived to find ourselves part of a huge class with Coach Bill. Lori, Jonathan and Sarah, Ellen, Carrie, Todd, Abby and Adrienne, and Danielle – and I don’t think that was everybody. We ran out of med balls and people were sharing equipment, so I think it was a good day at the box. 🙂

We started with some jump roping, then some leg swings, arm circles, and good mornings before we went over the movements for the workout itself.

  • Med ball ground to overhead
  • Med ball squats
  • Jump rope
  • Elbow to Straight Arm Plank (full locked-out plank down to elbows and back up again)
  • Single arm kettle-bell swings (Russian, so just to eye level, not locked out straight overhead)
  • Single arm kettle-bell push-press

The only thing I was worried about was the push-press and it turned out to be a worthy concern.

The workout itself was Mercury… three separate 7 minute AMRAPs with a three minute rest in-between. Each 7 minute AMRAP consisted of:

  • 10 weighted ball ground-to-overhead (20/14#)
  • 10 weighted ball squats (20/14#)
  • 30 jump ropes
  • 10 elbows to hand planks
  • 10 single-arm Russian kettle-bell swings (35/25#)
  • 10 single-arm kettle-bell push press (35/25#)

plank_on_elbows

Some people were flying, but my goal was to stay slow and steady for as long as I could. I did pretty well in the first round. And even the second round was ok. But the third round was awful. By the end I felt like I was going to hurl, which is never a good sign. I should have finished the round, but didn’t have it in me. I made it through:

  • 2 plus 50
  • 2 plus 10
  • 1 plus 68

But we survived. Life is good. 🙂

Ev did better than I did:

  • 2 plus 63
  • 2 plus 52
  • 2 plus 66

She was much more consistent than I was. And she stuck around to do yesterday’s workout afterwards ’cause she’s crazy – but that’s part of why I love her. Go figure. 🙂

Great work everybody! Y’all kicked butt!

Leave a Reply

