Slow Monday

After a very nice, calm, and relaxing Sunday, I was hopeful that Monday would continue that trend… Alas, that was not to be the case. A fitful night made it hard to get up and that groggy feeling continued right into the day’s workout…

1339d3We headed to the 9:30 class with Coach Bill today… It was myself, my wife Evie, and Danielle (with her little boy JR) – and we caught the 8:30 class finishing up. We saw Monica & Dan, Lisa, Todd and Melissa, Adrienne and Abby (and their pup Jayda), Lori, David, and Jenny. They were all in good spirits, so I figured that was a good sign. 🙂

Bill had us start with a light 400m jog and I was a little worried about that. Still fighting this damn groin pull (have a dr. appt this week to get it checked out) and didn’t want to aggravate it. He thought it might aggravate it less than the 3 minutes of jumping rope that was on the board, so we did that instead. He was right. Go figure. 🙂

After that we did a little jump-rope warm-up, some bear crawls and crab walks,  and jumping pull-ups, before going through a refresher on the hang power clean.

The workout is a 15 minute AMRAP:

  • 55 double-unders (or 110 singles)
  • 15 chest-to-bar pull-ups
  • 5 hang power cleans 155/105#

My one rep max for a power clean is 195# (though I thought it was 175# this morning – oops) so I was a bit concerned with doing 155#. We scaled it to 115#. I still haven’t managed double-unders yet. And chest-to-bar pull-ups are restricted by some mobility and technique issues at this point, so I attempted a couple and quickly fell back to regular kipping pull-ups. (After doing the death-by-pull-ups last week, I have to say that I wasn’t quite ready for doing more pull-ups again!)

c2bDanielle and Ev kicked my butt. They lapped me pretty quickly and got into the jump rope part of the 5th round. They did 80# or 85# cleans, a combination of banded pull-ups and ring rows, and single-unders. But don’t that fool you – they were both moving right along.

For me, it was the pull-ups that really killed me. By the end I had to drop and do ring-rows in round 3. I just couldn’t pull any more.

I made it through three full rounds (scaled) plus about 40 single-unders of round 4. I felt amazingly slow today. But I got through a few rounds at least.

Then we did the #romwod today… My body wasn’t having it and I ended up in savasana pose on my back for a good few minutes, just letting my body rest. Not the best stretching, but definitely needed.

Thanks Bill for the fun class and great work ladies! Looked like the advanced class (Elizabeth, Logan, Bill, and Drea) were having a good time with their workout today too, so I’m hoping that the rest of the day goes well for everybody!

Leave a Reply

