PR day?

Strength cycles are fun usually. It’s entertaining to battle back to or beyond an old PR on some of these traditional lifts. Usually.

Today was a bit hit and miss on that front.

Barbell_DeadliftArrived for an 8:30 class and got to work out with Coach Bill, Ashley, Elizabeth, Jenny, and David. Larry and Danielle were there too but joined the 9:30 class with Jonathan, Sarah, Andrea, and a few other folks. I honestly wasn’t sure how today was going to go, but knew I had a good group of folks to work with so it really didn’t matter. 🙂

We started with a 200m run, which concerned me a little bit. But it was short enough it didn’t aggravate my quad/groin pull too badly. Then we did some movements like a push press with a plate, backstroke, some iron cross stretches, half handstand push-ups, jumping pull-ups, and so on – to warm up a bit.

After that we worked on deadlift form and strict press form with an empty bar before getting started. I worked with David and Ashley, Elizabeth, and Jenny worked together.

press illustrationStarted with deadlifts. 95#/135#/185#/225#/275#/325# – fail. David managed 225# once and that was awesome. And I tried a couple of times with 325# but couldn’t get it off the ground. I think my body was fighting in an attempt not to re-injure the groin.

Moved to strict press. 75#/95#/100#/105#/115#/135#/145#/155# – fail. David got 95# up and tried 105# and then 100# to no avail. I did 135#, took two tries to get 145# up, and attempted 155# a couple of times but couldn’t. 145# is a 20# increase over my old PR and 10# better than my PR from earlier this month – so I’m happy with that.

After that, we did strict pull-ups, max effort. I managed 2. I’ll take it. Neither was pretty. 🙂 But they were overhand grip, full extension, which was better than doing them underhanded like a curl. 🙂

And lastly we did… death-by-pull-ups. With a continuously running clock do one pull-up the first minute, two pull-ups the second minute, three pull-ups the third minute… continuing as long as you are able. I got into the 7th minute before I ran out of oomph. I was hoping to get to 5, so getting past 6 was really good for me.

I suspect that my brain is trying to protect the body from further tearing. We’ll see what the next couple of days have in store, but it is feeling better. Not 100%, but better.

Thanks David for working with me today – you did great. And thanks Bill and Larry for the suggestions and encouragement. Deadlifts will just have to wait for another day.

Great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

