Revenge of the Sprints…

Yes, you read that title correctly. Revenge of the sprints. Whatever do I mean by that? I mean that karma is a royal pain in the inner thigh. Ow.

12bun4Finished up a few things today and headed in for a 9:30am class with Coach Drea. When I arrived about 9:15 and the 8:30 class was finishing up and I have to admit that I had some second thoughts about heading in. Why? Turkish Get-ups. Not my favorite. But hey, I went in anyway…

Larry, Lori, David, Lisa, Jenny, KC, Sarah, and a few other folks were finishing up. And it did not look like fun. But as I watched them finish up, I was joined by a few other folks for the next class – Adrienne and Abby (and Jayda), Clara, and Andrea.

We warmed up with a 500m row, some marching bridges, backstrokes to open shoulders, some jumping pull-ups, a crab walk, and some plank/push-ups – sort of like a push-up into downward dog but not quite. Then we talked about a few things and discussed the day’s workout…

Today might as well have been called “let’s scale everything” – because the workout itself was a hairy one. Turkish get-ups with a weighted barbell, strict ring dips, and strict pull-ups. Ha! Even starting out I was pondering how little weight I could get away with for the get-ups, but we were scaling other things as well – backward dips on boxes for ring-dips and strict ring rows for pull-ups.

We kicked it off with light weights (I grabbed a 15# dumbbell) and worked through the Turkish get-up progression a step at a time. And that’s when I discovered I was hurting. I went through the progression on my right side ok – not great, but I was moving. And as soon as I started on the right side I discovered I had a pull in my inner right thigh. Not quite a groin pull, but definitely the inside thigh. And it hurt.

12buqdI may have mentioned a few times that pain stops me cold occasionally. This was one of those times. But I couldn’t move past it. Even trying to stretch it in a pigeon stretch hurt like heck. So I flagged down Coach Drea and we chatted briefly. Turns out I wasn’t alone with this issue – it was the sprints last week.

So my scaled “Turkish get-ups” was just low and slow squats, pushing my knees as wide as they would go to stretch that inner thigh area. Honestly that did help.

Took me about 15 minutes at a leisurely pace to get through the workout with 20 slow squats, 10 ring rows, and 10 box dips for three rounds. Everyone else was doing the get-ups and I felt their pain, but honestly couldn’t pull my right leg into any kind of lunge position without wanting to yell.

Now I’m home and working on stretching this thing. We’ll see how far I get.

Everyone else killed it. Great work!!

Leave a Reply

