Revenge of 16.4

Hope you are all doing well on this fantastic Monday. I had a hard time getting up this morning, but so did everyone else at my house so I was not alone. Follow that with two meetings, some editing, and reading and you have a full morning.

That led to a noon class at CrossFit Continuum with Coach Drea! So far I think that’s one of the better parts of the day. Until you factor in the actual workout, which I’ll talk about in a second.

I got there and found Drea and Mike doing a WOD that involved 30 reps of ten different movements. It looked awful. They agreed. And it turned out I was the only one for the noon class.

953816Drea had me start with a 400m run, which I did – then I did 10 squat-to-stands, 10 pigs-on-skates, 10 thoracic high fives, 10 grasshoppers, and 10 half HSPUs. Might have been something else in there too. And then she had me warm up a deadlift bar to the working weight for the workout… 225#.

What is the workout? Same as 16.4. But with no time cap and in reverse. Ooh boy.

  • 55 handstand push-ups
  • 55-calorie row
  • 55 wall-ball shots (20/14#)
  • 55 deadlifts (225/155#)

I figured the row and the deadlifts would be the easiest part. I was half right.

The 55 HSPUs quickly became a joke. I got through maybe 6 total with another 5-7 failed attempts and then started doing push-ups. It took me 18+ minutes to get through the first 55 reps. Took me about 4 and a half minutes to do the row and then somewhere around 6 or 7 minutes for the wall balls. And then the deadlifts took forever again. The only part I scaled was the HSPUs – but still… Ugh.

By the time I was done, it took 42:25.

April 04, 2016 at 0227PMTo give you some indication of how other folks did… Looked like a lot of folks scaled. I only saw one Rx score on the board (way to go Todd!) at 19:32. It took me more than 2x as long to complete it and most of it was in the HSPUs/push-ups chunk.

I was laughing about it. My arms and shoulders simply wouldn’t do the work. I was talking to Drea the whole time because I’d get two to four push-ups done and then chat while I shook out my arms. We did so many push-ups and shoulder-intense movements last week (and just this past Saturday) – my body simply said “um, nope”.

Something about last week, whether it was Thursday’s insane number of push-ups, or maybe Saturday’s just insane number of reps… my body didn’t have it.

A big thank you goes to Drea who helped push me through when I really didn’t want to keep going. The row was the easiest part of the whole damn thing. For the wall balls she set me up with a 11-10-9-8-7-6-4 rep scheme and that worked pretty well. When wall balls are faster than deadlifts, that says a lot.

I’m tired now. Go figure. Have a great day, folks!

Leave a Reply

