Team WOD Saturday

The subtitle for this one should maybe be “Boy, did I maybe overdo this week?” 🙂

Last night was Friday Night Lights at CrossFit 719 and we had a good time. I got up this morning and felt halfway decent so I decided the Team WOD at CrossFit Continuum wasn’t out of the question… Silly, silly idea.

First of all, it was just me from our crew attending today. AJ had a school-related event today and Ev volunteered to take her. Mickey wasn’t feeling well and stayed in bed. That left yours truly.

But I was definitely not alone once I got to the box. We had a bunch of people – Monica & Daniel, Brent, Jamal and Kelli, Jonathan, Dan and Larry, Lori, Lisa, Stacy and Shaun, Marino and Deana, Drea, Clare, Isaac and Nancy… and a few others I’m missing. It was well attended for a Saturday – and we had a nice day to do it in. Plenty of sunshine and blue sky on a great April day in Colorado.

20160402_110346Jonathan and I teamed up, chatted, and came up with a rough plan. What was our plan? Keep chugging and get through the darn thing. It was a whopper!

The numbers were very random for this one, but Stacy said she found it online somewhere. Teams of 2 – 47 minute AMRAP with a chaser.

  • 88 pull-ups
  • 82 air squats
  • 27 ring dips
  • 55 push press (95/65#)
  • 92 double-unders (or 184 singles)
  • 73 knees-to-elbows
  • 52 front squats (95/65#)
  • 81 kettlebell swings (53/35#)
  • 46 sumo deadlift high pulls (95/65#)
  • 20 barbell rollouts
  • 5 manmakers (35/25# dumbells)
  • 47 burpees

The chaser? When you were done with the 47 minutes, do a partner run with an odd object of at least 10 pounds or more until the 52nd minute.

11upoeYes. This was a lot of reps. Even if you divide it up between two people, it’s killer.

Jonathan and I got through the burpees at the end of the 47 minutes and “ran” with a 15# plate. But honestly Jonathan did a kick ass job. He did the majority of the burpees and SDHPs – but I think we were pretty even on everything else.

This week I worked out Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday night, and Saturday morning. That’s 5 workouts this week. And I have a few body parts telling me perhaps that wasn’t my best idea. But I did have fun and everybody kicked butt. 🙂

Have not done barbell rollouts before (here’s a page with details) – nor do I think I had done man makers before… I think I’d volunteer to the former much faster than the latter… I had a devil of a time locking my left shoulder out to even do the squat clean of the dumbbells.

The beauty of working out more often is you get to see the limits of what your body can do so you can start working past them. 🙂 I think I believe that. And I’m pretty good for 20 minutes or so – but as soon as I get past that, my intensity drops off a cliff. Definitely something to work on.

At any rate… We had a great turnout today and it was fun. Now that it’s done, it’s fun anyway!

Thanks again Jonathan!

20160402_110350

 

Leave a Reply

