Friday Night Lights, April Fools Edition

There were no fools at CrossFit 719 for Friday Night Lights tonight (April Fools Day) – just a lot of people happy to work out together. 🙂

I feel like a fish out of water at these events, but I can’t argue with the intent behind them. It’s fantastic to see all these folks from different boxes come together at a different box every few weeks. My first one was over at CrossFit Decimate with Alex & Silvie Esqueda back in February and now this one was at CrossFit 719 and hosted by box owner Josh Corley and his crew.

Considering the number of folks we saw do the workout (figure 8 to 10 pairs in each heat and at least 4 heats), I’m going to estimate there were easily 100 people in attendance. And everybody had a smile on their face – it  was a good time. 🙂

The workout was a 16 minute relay for a pair of athletes and the goal was as many rounds as possible…

  • 12 box jumps (24/20″)
  • 8 deadlifts (185/135#)
  • 4 bar-over-burpees

We saw lots of familiar faces (Bill, Jena, Ridds, Josh, Marilee, and Alex) and I even met a few new ones (Silvie, it was great to meet you in person, and Ronnie it was nice to meet you!). And that was a very small cross-section of the folks that were there.

Ev and Ronnie paired up in the 2nd heat and Jena was kind enough to do the workout a second time with me in the 3rd. It was a good one. The trick was just to keep moving. 🙂

I’m honestly not sure how many total rounds we got through, but I think I probably got through 4, maybe 5. I kept telling Jena she could slow down but where my one speed is “SLOW” – hers seems to be “FAST”. 🙂 But it was great to work out with her again – it’s been a long time.

Thanks Josh for hosting a great event – you and your staff were all awesome.

A Few Pictures

A Little Rough for the Shy Guy

Next time I really need to work on being more outgoing, but that’s a bit of a struggle. I like to be the mostly anonymous guy who writes all this stuff up, so in person I have to admit I get a little gun shy.

Tonight Ev jumped right in, found a partner in no time, and was off to the races. I on the other hand kind of cheered folks on and wandered aimlessly a bit. Not to say that folks weren’t nice – everybody was – I just don’t like interrupting ongoing conversations or jumping in to introduce myself. And I was content to cheer folks on that I already knew and had partners.

I kind of liked the way it worked at the Decimate FNL where you put your name down on a list in a blank and were matched up with someone sort of randomly from another box. Though it didn’t work in my case, I met a nice gal who was gung ho and ended up going in a different heat. I ended up working out with Caleb (a fellow athlete from Continuum) – who like Jena was kind enough to do the workout twice – nice folks I knew. 🙂

So my one critique is that for shy folks like myself it might be good to have some kind of a mechanism for ensuring that people ended up with random folks from other boxes. I know a lot of people probably knew people from other gyms they like to work out with and that’s awesome – but an alternative method would have been great.

Just my opinion, so take it with a grain of salt. I enjoyed working out with Jena tonight – she’s fun and a spitfire of a competitor.

It all worked out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

