Go ahead and jump (on the box)

After Friday night and completing 16.5 (aka 14.5) for the 2016 CrossFit Open, I have to say that I didn’t do much over the weekend. We watched a lot of TV and hung out at home mostly. It was entertaining to feel different muscles complain on different days…

Anyway, the Open is done. Long live the Open. Now it’s time to get back to our regularly scheduled crossfit. 🙂 This week we’ll get back to a few scattered WODs and a Saturday Team WOD if life cooperates. If not, we’ll always say it should have.

20160328_104214Arrived at CrossFit Continuum for a 9:30am class today. The 8:30 class was finishing up – Monica, Lisa, Connie, Danielle, Adrienne, Larry, and a few other folks were putting things away and moving to the other room to do the #ROMWOD for the day. Didn’t sound like it was too bad, so I wasn’t too alarmed.

Turned out that Ashley and Andrea were going to do 16.5 before the deadline and I would be doing the day’s workout by myself. And that was fine.

11karpCoach Drea had me warm-up with a kettle-bell (55#)… did some sumo deadlift high-pulls, some backstroke and arm circles, squats, and regular kettle-bell swings before warming up with an empty barbell for the sumo deadlift high-pulls in the workout. We haven’t done them in a while, but they didn’t feel too bad. Even when I added weight, they weren’t awful.

The workout involved 12 minutes of box jumps and SDHP.

  • 1 minute of 30-inch box jumps
  • 1 minute of 115-lb. sumo deadlift high pulls
  • 2 minutes of 30-inch box jumps
  • 2 minutes of 115-lb. sumo deadlift high pulls
  • 3 minutes of 30-inch box jumps
  • 3 minutes of 115-lb. sumo deadlift high pulls

20160328_104209Now, I didn’t quite do it as prescribed. My body is still a little out of whack after last week – knees and hips especially. So I did 95# on the bar and a 20″ box. I probably could have done a 24″ box and thought I might warm up to them, but after struggling to get up on the 20″ box (my brain gets in the way) I honestly didn’t get that far. 30″ is still out of the realm of possibility if you ask my brain.

  • In the first two minutes I got through 10 box jumps and 11 SDHPs.
  • In the next four minutes I got through 10 box jumps and 14 SDHPs.
  • And in the last six minutes I got through 25 box jumps and 19 SDHPs.

Honestly my brain got in the way. I stood at the box for probably 30-45 seconds in that second round trying to convince my body to just go – and it rebelled. It did it again in the last round but had more time, so I got more done.

Not my finest hour, but 98 total reps in 12 minutes was… well, sad.

20160328_104320The box jump is one of those strange movements where my brain just doesn’t communicate with my body. Once I prime the pump and get one done, I can usually get a few more – but as soon as I stop, I’m screwed. There’s a built in “um, no” factor somehow. I wish I knew why.

Once that was done, I went and did the day’s #romwod – which was uncomfortable, but doable. And then I watched Andrea finish up 16.5. Ashley had finished while I was in the other room and got it done in about 30 minutes. Andrea finished in about 33. And yes, it sucked, but they finished – so great job!

I’ve been impressed with everybody who has done that damn workout… It sucks. It’s done. Huzzah!

We’ll see if tomorrow goes any better. 🙂

Great work everybody! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

