Burpees still don’t like me either

That’s right. Burpees. The movement damn near every crossfit athlete I know loves to hate.

Made it to CrossFit Continuum for a 9:30 class in time to see the 8:30 class finishing up the actual workout today. Wondered why until I heard from Coach Bill that Drea had added a series of bench press to the mix. Didn’t look like fun, but I was already in the room. 🙂

Bear-Complex-400x400We had a busy class today for Bill… Karen, Joel, me and the girls, Michael & Ant, Melissa, and a new family – Hillary and her three kids; Chandler, Colton, and Riley. 12 of us in all I think.

Started with a 3 minute warm-up of the Bear Complex with an empty barbell. Power clean. Thruster. Back squat. Start again. Was a good way to warm up.

Once that was done, we split up to tackle the bench press…

  • 21-15-9 bench press

I worked with Joel and Chandler. He did all of his sets with 95#, which is what we warmed up with. Joel and I increased weight to 115#, 135#, and 155#. And I have to say was good for a while, but that was a lot of reps. 🙂

  • 115# – one set of 10 and one of 11
  • 135# – one set of 9 I think and then 3 and 3
  • 155# – one set of 6, then 2 and 1

rogue-black-med-ball-web6_1My one rep max is 220# (set back in November), but we haven’t done a lot of bench. It was a great addition to the day.

Then… we dealt with the sucky part of the workout. For time…

  • 20/14-lb. medicine ball cleans, 42 reps
  • 21 burpees
  • 20/14-lb. medicine ball cleans, 30 reps
  • 15 burpees
  • 20/14-lb. medicine ball cleans, 18 reps
  • 9 burpees

Not a fan of either of these movements. They didn’t like me either, so I think we were even. Took me 15:48 to finish up, but I did it with the 20# ball and sucked wind a lot.

AJ & Mickey didn’t do the workout part after the bench press – instead they did a mile run and got it done in about 9 minutes.

Have to say it was a fun class. Lots of energy. Good folks.

Thanks Bill as always for your enthusiasm and great work everybody!

March 22, 2016 at 1141AM

Leave a Reply

