16.4 is done, thank goodness

Yes, that’s right. Though 16.4 was announced right here in Colorado Springs, that didn’t make it any better. However… and this is a big however… this is the first workout of the Open that I felt like I could do all of the movements. Maybe not fast, but I could do them. Well, most of them – but I’ll talk about that in a minute.

We arrived at Crossfit Continuum and immediately starting cheering on our fellow athletes. There were a lot of them and our coaches had us sign up in heats of 4 people since we have four rowers.

If you’ve been hiding from the Open, here’s the workout for 16.4… It was aย 13-min. AMRAP:

  • 55 deadlifts (225/155#)
  • 55 wall-ball shots (20/14#)
  • 55-calorie row
  • 55 handstand push-ups

The only movement I wasn’t quite sure about was the handstand push-up. I have been able to do them with some ab mats on the ground, but I’ve never tried one flat on the floor with my head down on the ground.

11353sWell, I’m happy to say that I tried one when I warmed up and huzzah! I managed to get one! That said, I didn’t quite get that far. ๐Ÿ™‚ My hope was to get into the row and I managed, barely, to do just that.

How did I do? I got through the deadlifts using the lift and drop, one after another. Took me less than 5 minutes to get through 55 deadlifts using this method. And I was ecstatic with that. The wall balls on the other hand… Woof. Took me the next 6+ minutes to get through the 55 of those. And I had less than a minute on the rower – got through 3 calories.

Total? Score of 113. Huzzah! I was VERY happy to get into the row – but dang I was wiped at the end. I had three folks right there cheering me on every step of the way and I was thankful for the motivation! John and Larry kept urging me forward, as did my judge Elizabeth who was awesome again.

My wife Evelyn got through 141 (that’s through 31 calories of rowing) and my daughter Mickey got through 165 (all the way through the row and attempted a few handstand push-ups). They did awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

Honestly we had a lot of awesomeness at the box – quite a few folks putting in their sweat and tears into deadlifts, wall balls, and rowing. But it’s a great crew, so we were all pulling for one another.

Now it’s time to get some sleep!

Leave a Reply

