A Monday Fail

Hello Monday. The odds were stacked against you. Meetings. Tax appointments. Work. But somehow we managed to slip in a crossfit workout in the madness. And I took my youngest daughter with me. 🙂

We made it to a 4:30 class with Coach Ray and we were far from alone. There were probably 16-20 people in our class with us… Connie, Dan, Larry, Karen, Kaila, Melissa, Jamal, Kelli, Marino, Deana, John, Shauna, Shaun, Ray’s wife Danielle and Danielle… maybe I missed someone, but dang there were a lot of bodies. 🙂

box-jump-failStarted with one of Ray’s warm-ups, which I heard were fun. This was the first time I’d had a chance to work with Ray as a coach, so I have to admit I was geeked up about it. 🙂 And he didn’t disappoint. We started with some stretching on the wall and with bands and then did this fun little obstacle course where we did box jumps higher and higher until we decided to break off and join the conga line again. Started with a 45# plate, then two, then three, then four, then a 20″ box, a 24″ box, and a 24″ box plus a 45# plate. We went through the whole thing five times and I managed to even do the 24″ jump – though I stopped there.

When that all was done we did 5 minutes of double-under (or single-under) practice. He gave some good tips on what to work on – from jumping in the same place and not moving around so much, to keeping your arms close to your sides and not too far forward, and flipping your hands/wrists to get the rope around twice. Personally I’m at the point where I am pretty good at jumping consistently in one location and keeping my hands at my sides in my peripheral vision, but damn if I have zero rhythm to get that rope flying around as fast as it needs to.

Definitely something I need to work on. 🙂

When that was done we started getting set up for the WOD itself…

1 round of:

  • 100 double-unders
  • 50 squats
  • 95/65-lb. push press, 25 reps

Then, 2 rounds of:

  • 60 double-unders
  • 30 squats
  • 95/65-lb. push press, 15 reps

Then, 3 rounds of:

  • 40 double-unders
  • 20 squats
  • 95/65-lb. push press, 10 reps

As you might imagine, this was a bit of a challenge. I can’t do double-unders yet obviously, but I did a lot of singles. And the singles for this workout were doubled. That got very taxing in the knees pretty quickly. But I managed to do the squats and the 95# push press for a while.

a0075-000068

My problem, again, was breathing at first. And then it got worse. My shoulders fried fast and I had a few moments where an arm or a leg went to sleep. Not sure what that was about.

We started about 5:05, which gave us about 25 minutes to complete the whole thing.

I didn’t.

I got through the first round and started flagging quickly after that. Between the breathing, the burning knees and the tingling arm or leg, it was a struggle.

Made it all the way through the two parts of round 2 and got into the first part of round 3 before I died and ran out of time. I was resting too much between sets because I had to. Not sure if it was the jumping or whatever that fried my legs, but damn. It wasn’t good.

That said, I did ok. I was sweating like a beast. It was a great workout.

Ray, thanks for the class. I had a blast even if I was blasted by the end. 🙂

And thank you to everybody who was helping push me on and I’m sorry I didn’t quite pull through in the end. I’ll try and do better next time. This too shall pass. 🙂

Hopefully the 5:30 class had fun too! 🙂

Time to recover for whatever tomorrow holds!

Leave a Reply

