16.3

Well, I can’t sleep so I might as well write this up. (We’ll talk about my insomnia at the end, I promise.)

Last night along with a good chunk of the CrossFit community, I watched the 16.3 announcement. And I only swore a little. Bar Muscle Ups? Riiiight.

10ple7What’s the workout? A 7 minute AMRAP:

  • 10 power snatches (75/55#)
  • 3 bar muscle-ups

I have attempted the bar muscle-up halfheartedly a few times, but it hasn’t been in the cards. I’m just getting to the point where chest-to-bar may be an option though, so the scaled workout might be a bit more in my wheel house.

  • 10 power snatches (45/35#)
  • 5 jumping chest-to-bar pull-ups

That was more in the realm of possibility anyway.

I didn’t get to go watch the rest of the box do their thing, but it looks like (based on what I heard and saw as far as posted video) that quite a few people managed to get bar muscle-ups for the first time – so that was exciting. We were late due to soccer practice, but made it in eventually and saw a few folks work through it.

When I jumped in, I ended up going with my wife and daughter along with one or two other folks. I did not warm up except for trying a few jumping c2b’s to see if they were even possible. Apparently they were. And the bar at 75# felt ok, so we had a plan… Start with the 10 Rx power snatches and then do the rest of the workout scaled.

How’d it go?

I managed the 75# snatches pretty easily. Banged them out and hopped to the rig. And the first set of 5 jumping C2B’s went slow, but steady. Got through them and started again.

Ultimately I got through 3 full rounds and 10 more snatches. I attempted more C2B but had no pull by that point – my forearms were rocks and I lost the ability to pull the bar to my chest. I never dropped the weight on the bar – stuck with 75# – and even to the end those felt ok.

My first two sets of snatches were unbroken and the last two I did 5 and 5, which worked fine. I just wish I’d been able to do a few more chest to bars.

Everybody did an amazing job, though I feel for my wife who struggles with all pull-up movements. Tonight she did the snatches fine but spent the rest of the time attempting to get even a single jumping C2B and couldn’t quite get there. Somehow we have to get her over that hump.

The Conundrum

10plfn

Here’s my conundrum.

I have two scores. I have a Rx score of 10 reps. And I have a Scaled score of 55 reps (three full rounds – 45 reps – plus ten more snatches = 55).

As far as the Open itself, I’d get more mileage out of an Rx score. But I didn’t do it Rx, so my conscience is telling me I should just put in the scaled score.

I’m not in this thing to *win* the Open. Obviously. I’m just a guy trying to get through each workout to the best of my ability and actually FINISH this year.

So to that end, I’m probably going to enter a scaled score. Ultimately it’s not going to matter to anybody but me, so I need to appease my conscience.

The Insomnia

It’s 3:30am. The madness began after 1am and I went to bed about 10:30. My brain started playing the usual tricks about the ceiling fan…

  • it was going to fall
  • I had to turn it off
  • I had to save the dog and my wife so if it falls they wouldn’t get hurt

It’s ludicrous what my brain throws up. I don’t know why it does it. I avoided caffeine. I avoided alcohol. I drank water. I tried to be a good kid.

But no, the brain doesn’t want me to sleep. A little after 1:30 I came downstairs and played a computer game for a while and now I’m writing this up. It’s maddening.

Not sure why, but at this point I am just looking for a rubber mallet to beat myself over the head with, Wile E Coyote style.

Hopefully you are all getting some sleep for me and I can siphon some energy before I start on the coffee IV in a few hours.

G’nite.

Leave a Reply

