Low and slow Overhead Squats

I was not all that happy with Helen yesterday… (Running, ick.) But managed to get up in a better mood today so I suspect that my mental recovery went ok. πŸ™‚

After a couple of work tasks, I headed into the box for an 8:30 workout knowing I had to bail by 9:30 so I could get back home for a 10am meeting. Oh the exciting life I lead! HA! Can’t miss meetings with your boss though – that’s just not good form. πŸ™‚

Got stuck in traffic on the way, but arrived only a car length ahead of our trainer – Coach Drea – so I was ok! We were joined by Ashley and Todd. And eventually Coach Bill came in to help with the 9:30 class.

snatch5We were supposed to warm up with a 400m jog, but after all the “running” yesterday (Remember: Running, ick) I decided a 500m row would be better. Finished in less than 2 minutes and called it good. Then we started a 45 seconds on/15 seconds off routine with a few movements – plank hold, iron cross (move your knees side to side while you’re on your back), scorpion (move your knees side to side while you’re on your belly), bridge ups, knee hugs, and some shoulder openers.

From there we transitioned to looking at today’s workout… 3 rounds, slow and controlled, of:

  • 21 reps, overhead squats, 95/65#
  • 21 weighted sit-ups
  • 21 good mornings

The dreaded OHS creeping back onto the menu again. Though I have to say I did better than I expected today, OHS are not my favorite movement. This was a great way to build strength though without going crazy on speed or weight.

We warmed up a bit with a PVC pipe and an empty barbell, then Drea started us off. Took me a bit to find my feet for the OHS, which sounds strange but with my hip mobility being what it is, my feet tend to move a fair amount during these squats. Drea got me going the right direction and it helped everything be better immediately – from locking out overhead to getting low in the squat at the bottom.

I used 65# on the bar for my OHS, a 25# plate for my weighted sit-ups, and an empty 45# barbell for my good mornings. I was definitely slow, but I felt like all three movements worked pretty well today. We were trying to do strict and slow on everything, going so far as to sit at the bottom for a few seconds on each OHS.

stopwatchHad to break it into sets of 5 or 7 to get through the squats, but did ok on the rest.

Unfortunately I was slow enough that I knew I would have to bolt after 2 sets of the three. So that’s what I did. But I think I did pretty well with the OHS and I’m sure I’ll feel the weighted sit-ups later!

Thanks Drea and Bill for the suggestions and great work Todd & Ashley! You both looked great!

Have a great day folks! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

