Just Keep Rowing…

It’s Monday again. Not sure how that happened. Something about time marching on or flying like a banana. At any rate, the weekend zipped past – probably because of the blur left by 16.1!

homer-mmmm.pizzaYesterday was a bit of a rest day. I had to put butt in chair to get some work done on a project I’d been neglecting for a while – nothing like 60 pages of editing and page layout to kill a day. Hardly moved from that chair except to eat pizza and have a few cider beers last night. Mmmmm… Pizza.

As a result, I knew I needed to get up and get moving again today. Funny how that happens.

So I survived my two morning meetings and headed into CrossFit Continuum for a 9:30 workout. Of course, things didn’t quite work according to plan due to Dave Castro’s space intense 16.1 workout. People were retesting or testing for the first time this morning, which only left a little room for classes. Mondays will be rough for a while I think, but that’s OK!

Our options today were either a series of increasing front squats…

  • 5-5-5-5-5

Or an absolutely awful cardio workout… 3 rounds for time of:

  • Row 1,000 meters
  • Run 800 meters

I went in thinking I was going to go for front squats, but decided against it after seeing what space constraints we had while people re-tested. Instead I went for the cardio, which was mind blowing to me… I don’t like running at all. Why did I go with that option?

February 29, 2016 at 1109AM
Let’s Row!

Well, I got through the first 1,000 meters and headed outside to run 800m in time to see clouds of dust and dirt get kicked up by a railroad machine working on the tracks next to the complex. I’ve had enough issues with allergies and asthma of late, so decided I’d modify the workout: we’d skip the running. Saved from the run by environmental factors!! 🙂

So my workout became 5 rounds for time of:

  • Row 1,000m
  • 1-2 minute break

It’s been a while since I’ve rowed that much, but I don’t think I did that badly… my times were:

  • 4:20
  • 4:30
  • 4:22
  • 4:25
  • 4:23

So I was pretty consistent. The 4:30 was because I didn’t realize the rower was on “9” and I had to stop briefly to adjust back down to a more reasonable “7”. And even if you figure in my breaks between rounds I managed a 5k in a little more than 30 minutes, which I’m pretty happy with.

I don’t think it’s something I’d do all the time, but it was a good workout!

crossfit-games-2016When I was done, I got to cheer on some of the folks re-doing 16.1 or doing it for the first time… Larry got through 153 reps… Bill managed 8 rounds Rx’d… and Ray got through 6 full rounds, which was a 6 rep improvement over his time Friday night.

I honestly was just happy to be done with 16.1 on Friday night, so I have no plans to retest. 🙂

Great work folks! Have a fantastic day!

Leave a Reply

