Getting back to the box…

Being sick sucks. Add in work craziness and it sucks more. And right before the Open! Arrgh.

CFG_Open_Badge_2016Anyway, today was my first workout in nearly a week. I felt like crud over the weekend and between my cold and work stuff couldn’t get in Monday or Tuesday this week… thank goodness for Wednesday!

Though I’m still not 100% I felt like I needed to get something in ahead of the Open 16.1 announcement tomorrow and the “Friday Night Lights” format at CrossFit Continuum every Friday of the competition. I also needed to get out of my house for a bit – a side effect of working from home!

So I made it to a 9:30am class after a morning meeting. Huzzah!

Arrived and watched the 8:30 class finishing up with Danielle, Todd and his wife, and Mike. They were doing the last part of the workout. And the 9:30 class trickled in… John, Maria, Joel and Jodi, Andrea, and one or two other folks. Plus Heather was there to coach today, which is always fun. She’s a bit under the weather but did great anyway.

kettlebell-swingWe started with a 500m row and then did “Death by Kettlebells” for 10 minutes. Every minute on the minute you did 1 kettle bell swing, then 2 on the 2nd minute, 3 on the 3rd, etc. Until you got to 10. But in-between you got to do a rotating cast of exercises – 10 squat to stands, 10 hollow body rocks, 10 pogo jumps, 10 Cossack squats, and 10 inverted push-ups… I was tired after just doing that much with a 53# kettle-bell. 🙂

Then we got to the real workout, which was Clean & Jerks:

  • Five sets of 3, increasing – Clean & Jerks

We had the option of doing power cleans or squat cleans and push jerks or split jerks so long as we kept consistent throughout. And we were told to go fairly light if we were doing the open workout on Friday. So I went with 115# on the bar to start and didn’t get higher than 125#.

clean-pull-illustrationHonestly after doing Jared Enderton’s class a few weeks ago I’ve been trying to work more of the things we learned into my regular routines… so I used today’s workout to do that a bit. I did hook grip on the bar and squat cleans. Though gravity still sucked, I did better I think with my form on the squat cleans more consistently. I need to breathe better in the middle of that, but at least the hook grip is feeling better.

I don’t feel like I did as much as I needed to  but am exhausted afterwards (a side effect of having a cold) so may take a little nap today if I can find the time.

When we were done with that we worked with double unders again in the form of another “Flight Simulator” run – 5-10-15-20-30-40-50-down again with double unders.

I just used it to laugh at myself as I attempted to get one of the suckers. 🙂

And now I’m back home again, tired. My body is telling me a nap is in order. I must listen.

nap-attack-garfield

Leave a Reply

