Some days…

So today should have been a good day for me. I got some stuff done for work, survived my morning meeting, and was headed into Crossfit Continuum for a noon workout. Today’s workout was front squats – I should be able to do that! HA! My body had other plans.

I arrived in time to catch the advanced class wrapping up and discussing food cravings, which was entertaining. Girl Scout Cookies seem to be a vice for a few of us. 🙂 And it was just me and Joel for the noon class with Coach Isaac, so we got a leisurely start.

We started with a 500m row and then did Spider-man Lunges, squat-to-stands, a minute front squat hold with a PVC pipe, and some knee hugs before starting in on our front squats. Easy progression today:

  • 10 sets of 1 rep with increasing weight

20160218_125729I did a warm-up with 135# on the bar and felt ok or so I thought… Then I did…

  • 185#
  • 195#
  • 205#
  • 215#
  • 225#
  • 235# (stop)

The 185# felt heavy and my lower GI system was not happy for some reason, but I fought through it. I got through 225#, took a break, and went back to 235# on the bar… and there I stopped. Quite honestly I got it up in a front-rack position and tried to go down into a squat twice – but barely got started before my body said “nope”.

Usually I can fight through it, but today that wasn’t happening. I get these lower GI issues now and then at home, but this is the first time they’ve hit during a workout. Not sure what brings them on, but all I can do is ride them out. It’s lovely.

Getting old sucks, but it’s still better than the alternative so far as we know.

From there we did some skill work – handstand push-ups or handstand holds. I did 4 strict handstand push-ups and a short hold and called it good.

The three of us did a lot of talking today. Joel worked through his progression of front rack one-legged lunges (one left, one right = 1 rep) and got through his series before doing some handstand holds.

So it wasn’t a great day of training I’m afraid. I got a little done, but that’s it.

Guess we’ll see what next week brings. This weekend we’ll do some yoga and maybe I’ll do some sort of at-home workout on Sunday just to keep moving.

Hope everybody has a great day!

Leave a Reply

