Burpee Pull-overs? What?

Apparently I’m getting back to work at the box after two weeks of no workouts at all because today was my 4th workout in 5 days. Tomorrow will be a rest day I think, but I’m not feeling as bad as I did yesterday so I think I’m on the right track.

gymnastics-handstand-silhouette-body-silhouette-man-in-handstand-front-1Today didn’t start all that well, but I made it in for an 8:30 workout with Coach Heather at CrossFit Continuum. We had a fun group – Lori, Sam, Ashley, Sarah, Mike, and myself.

Started with a 1,000m row or 800m run. Figured I ran (walked) yesterday, so a row would be ok. Took about 4:20 this morning – not my fastest, but that’s ok. We then did some roll-to-candlesticks, Cossack squats, inchworms, knee hugs, and maybe one or two other things. Not too bad.

The workout today made up for that however. It was a 20 minute AMRAP…

  • 10 burpee pullovers
  • 30 squats
  • 60 seconds of handstand hold

You may be asking “what’s a burpee pullover?” I know I did. Well, maybe this will answer your question. It certainly answered mine. ๐Ÿ™‚

We attempted a couple of those. And I have to say I was able to get my knees to the bar but not pull myself over – which is honestly further than I expected to get. So instead I got to work on one of the modifications:

  • Burpee knee raises (knees to elbows or knees to chest)
  • Burpee strict toes to bar

I can do knee raises, but decided to go for the toes to bar which are a little harder. And though they weren’t exactly strict, I did do them one at a time through the workout.

February 16, 2016 at 1020AMSo I ended up doing:

  • Burpee toes-to-bar
  • Air squats
  • 60-second handstand hold on the wall

Folks in earlier classes were getting 2-4 rounds in 20 minutes. I was shooting for 2+ and managed almost 3 full rounds.Got through 2 rounds + 10 burpee toes to bar and 30 air squats. Ran out of time just as I was getting ready to go to the wall for a handstand hold.

The holds were interesting. I did the first one all in one go – but the second one I could only make 40 seconds for the first part, then did another 20 seconds to round it out. Shoulders and forearms were getting cranky.

Mike managed to do quite a few of the burpee pull-overs. They weren’t pretty, but he got through it, which was better than any of the rest of us. ๐Ÿ™‚

When we were done, we were supposed to do “Flight Simulator” which is all about double-unders. You do 5 – 10-15-20-…-50-45-40-…-10-5, taking a break between each mini round. And if you fail at any point you have to restart. Mike was working his way down the ladder when I left.

I am still working on double unders, so used it as practice time. Might have accomplished one or two but I’m still figuring them out and couldn’t tell. And that’s ok.

It was a good workout today. I sweat a ton, which was good. And everybody worked hard, which was also good. ๐Ÿ™‚ Great work everybody!

Thanks Heather for a fun one – and hopefully Drea and the 9:30 class had just as much fun!

Leave a Reply

