Friday Night Lights and the CrossFit Community

Every now and then I’m reminded of how awesome our crossfit community is. ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night I attended another first for me – a local “Friday Night Lights” event bringing together folks from all over the Colorado Springs area to work out together and hang out. But what made it even better was the fact that this one was doing something cool for my wife’s charity – Street Petz.

Street Petz

12438965_1869321693294211_4293293771062178003_nStreet Petz is a group of volunteers who go out every Thursday, rain, snow, or shine, and give out food, vaccines (if it’s warm enough), and other supplies to homeless folks with pets in downtown Colorado Springs. My wife Evelyn and her CSU Vet School classmate Dr. Youkey started Street Petz and the C. Springs chapter is one of (if not THE) most active chapter the nonprofit has in the United States.

My wife, our daughters, my mother-in-law, and a small but fierce band of friends and volunteers bag food in gallon bags. They give out hundreds of pounds of cat/kitten and dog/puppy food in those bags every week and our garage looks like it could feed an army of pets. But it goes really fast and they run out frequently.

Friday Night Lights and CrossFit Decimate

One of our volunteers and a good friend, Marilee, also happens to be a crossfitter, a crossfit coach at CrossFit 719, and a community organizer for efforts like Friday Night Lights and Faith Rx here in the Springs. She set this event up with Alex and his wife Silvie at CrossFit Decimate as the first Friday Night Lights event of 2016.

And the call went out – bring pet food! The box whose participants bring the most food will get a prize!

The Experience

Honestly I was not sure what to expect. We arrived and the place was packed – people were parking all over and I think they had a turnout of somewhere between 60 and 80 people from seven different boxes. We saw folks from our box (CrossFit Continuum), CrossFit 719, CrossFit SoCo, of course CrossFit Decimate, and I’m not sure who else. But it was crazy!

20160212_201754

The workout itself happened in multiple heats. It was a partner WOD and you worked in one of four different lanes. Apparently there were maybe as many as 10 different heats that went, so some folks were doing it multiple times.

20160212_202946The workout was a good one…

  • 60 partner wall balls
  • 50 partner step ups with a kettle bell in goblet squat position
  • 40 partner deadlifts
  • 30 partner toes to bar (one person worked while the other hung from the bar)

I don’t think anybody came close to hitting that 15 minute time cap and the heats went VERY fast.

20160212_202934

We had some friends from Continuum with us… Caleb & Megan went first and did awesome. My wife Ev worked with Audra from CrossFit SoCo and they kicked butt. My daughters Mickey and AJ worked together and did great.

And Caleb partnered up with me when it was my turn. There was a bit of confusion with the sign-up and the little gal who was going to be my partner ended up going in the very first heat, which was fine. So I was without a partner until Caleb jumped in.

20160212_202958As the first real workout I’ve done in two weeks, I have to say it kicked my butt. We were at sea level for 10 days and apparently that was enough to throw my system out of whack at altitude. I started to feel it during the step-ups with a 53# kettle bell on a 20″ box and it only got harrier from there. By the time we got done, I was seeing spots and my head was swimming. Not my favorite post-workout feeling at all!

After a while of sitting on the floor watching other heats go, my head settled down – but it took a while. I was bummed I didn’t get to sample the BBQ that was on hand or the beer from Rocky Mountain Brewery – but we may have to make a run back down that way to sample the cider that my wife said was pretty tasty! I just didn’t feel like adding alcohol or food to a spinning head was a good plan. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Result

Between everybody who donated food, Street Petz ended up with almost 700 pounds of pet food. It was amazing!

A huge thank you has to go out to Alex and Silvie Esqueda (owners of CrossFit Decimate) and Marilee Lake (Friday Night Lights organizer) and everyone who participated. It was a good time and nice to meet all the folks who came!

Plus we got to meet this handsome pup!

20160212_204329

Time to move on to the next challenge, which we’ll write about later today or tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

One thought on “Friday Night Lights and the CrossFit Community”

Leave a Reply

