Progress!

For about two weeks now, I’ve been chomping at the bit to work on a new one rep max for front squats. A couple of weeks ago I pushed what I thought were my limits and easily hit 215#. We stopped there and called it my “soft” 1RM for a while. And I’ve used that as my max for the last few front squat workouts. But no longer!

Got in for a noon class with Coach Isaac today. He, Bill, and Jared were finishing up a bench press/pull-ups workout. And I was joined by Marianne and Clay. Clay is new to our box, but seems like a good guy. Another computer geek like myself.

I wasn’t sure how well I’d do today since I’m fighting a bit of a head cold, but we’d give it a shot.

We started with a 500m row, then did some Cossack squats, pigs-on-skates, knee hugs, Spider-man lunges, wall squats, and shoulder work to get warmed up. And then it was off to the races.

snoopy-happy-danceThe first part of the day was to find your new one rep max for front squats. I went through the following weights to warm up a bit and then see how heavy I could go:

  • 135#
  • 185# (my old 1RM from 2013)
  • 205#
  • 225# (new 1RM)
  • 235# (new 1RM)
  • 245# (new 1RM)
  • 255# (bailed)

I really feel like I should have had the 255# but I got into my own head a bit. Not sure if it was fear or cautiousness, but either way I think I stopped myself.

That said, I’ll take 245# as a new personal record, thank you very much. Not only is it better than body weight, but it’s 30# better than my 215# and 60# better than my old 1RM from 2013.

And then we did the AMRAP that followed the 1RM happy dance. Not so happy, but not awful. A 10 minute AMRAP:

  • 8 thrusters (75/55#)
  • 8 over-the-bar burpees

Um, yay? Pretty light but still… Ugh. Burpees. I made it through 4 full rounds plus 1. The first round I pretty much did unbroken, but after that I got slower and slower as we went on.

Once that was done, we cleaned up and did a bit of mobility work before calling it a day. Not too shabby.

Thanks Isaac (and Bill and Jared) for all the encouragement. I got farther than I expected and am happy with the result. Plus, I know 255# isn’t too far out of reach. 🙂

One step closer to getting to body weight or better for all crossfit movements. 🙂

Hope everybody has a great day!

Leave a Reply

