Tabatas are evil…

Tuesdays and Thursdays are typically strength-related at Crossfit Continuum. We’ve done many different cycles over the last few months, including deadlifts, bench press, and now front squats. So I fully expected to walk in today and get my squat on… but like some days are at the box, I swear the bar got heavier for no reason at all.

Though I work from home, my schedule has been wacky of late. I used to be really consistent with what times I’d get into the box, but I’ve been all over the place for a few months now. Yesterday was 9:30. Today was 8:30. Thursday will be Noon. Wacky, I say.

But I made it in for an 8:30 workout with Coach Drea and was joined by Jonathan, Sarah, and their little boy. We started with a 500m row and shifted to some Cossack squats, knee hugs, slow air squats, wall squats, grasshoppers, and my favorite – roll to candlestick.

Gravity Seemed Heavier Today

January 26, 2016 at 1043AMWith that out of the way we could tackle our front squats for the day.

  • 5@85%
  • 3@90%
  • 1@95%
  • 3@90%
  • 5@85%

Easy enough, right? Right off the bat I decided to go with 215 as my 95% and reconsidered pretty quickly as I warmed up. I ended up with:

  • 85% = 185# (86% of 215#)
  • 90% = 195# (91% of 215#)
  • 95% = 205# (95% of 215#)

So I guess that was better anyway. I knew when I warmed up with 135# on the bar that it was going to be a long day. It just *felt* heavy today.  Mentally it was no heavier than it had been when I did it last Thursday, but hey… maybe gravity was slightly out of whack. Or maybe it’s the cold that I’m coming down with.

Anyway, I had a hard time with the sets of 5. The first set at 185# I did two, put the bar down, then did three more. The sets of 3 at 195# I was able to power through. And the 1 rep at 205# felt ok. But that last set of 185# I had to break it into 4 and 1.

Not my finest hour, but I’m hopeful I feel stronger (or gravity loosens its hold a bit) on Thursday when we test for new one rep PRs. I’m hoping for 225# or better.

We’ll see what happens.

Tabatas Happen

Once all that was done we did a 10 round tabata with air squats. A tabata is 20 seconds of work and 10 seconds of rest, so air squats should be no big deal. Shoot for 10-15 in that 20 second period, rest, repeat. But here’s the twist with today’s. That 10 seconds of rest, we alternated resting at the bottom of the squat or standing.

January 26, 2016 at 1043AM (1)I realized quickly that sure – I can sit in a squat for 10 seconds no problem. But I can’t breathe deep enough to recover. So that next round I’d get maybe 8 or 10 squats vs. 10-12 if I rested in a standing position. It was interesting.

I think I averaged 10 squats or so each of the 20 seconds, but my my shortest round was 8 and I had a couple of those.

Long story short, it was tougher than it should have been. 🙂

But everybody chugged right along and I’m looking forward to shooting for a new one rep max front squat on Thursday. Hopefully gravity will cooperate!

Great work everybody. Thanks Drea and I hope everybody has a great day!

Leave a Reply

