Fight Gone Worse

It’s a new week, which means a Monday workout to sweat out the bad food choices I made over the weekend (caffeine, pizza, a burrito, and the occasional beer – I didn’t get TOO crazy). But when I saw what today’s workout was last night I was debating my own sanity…

January 25, 2016 at 1117AMToday I arrived in time to see the 8:30 class putting their equipment away, looking exhausted, and telling me that I should just turn around and run while there was still time. That’s never a good sign. Of course Coach Drea already saw me and told me it was too late to run. πŸ˜‰

It was me, Jemma and Andrea with Coach Drea at 9:30. (It was Monica, Lisa, Danielle, Mike, and one or two other folks.) None of us were all that geeked up about Fight Gone Bad but we didn’t cut and run!

Started with a 500m row and then did some one-armed kettle-bell thrusters (25# for me), kettle-bell sumo deadlift high pulls, half-handstand push-ups, squat-to-stands, and pigs-on-skates to warm up… Then grabbed our equipment for the workout…

“Fight Gone Bad” has been around for quite a while in the crossfit community (see here from 2008) but that didn’t make it any better. πŸ™‚

January 25, 2016 at 1117AM (1)Three rounds of five minutes each (one minute per exercise) with one minute between the rounds:

  • Wall balls (20# ball, 10 foot target)
  • Sumo deadlift high-pull (75/55# bar)
  • Box jumps (20″ box)
  • Push-press (75/55# bar)
  • Row (for Calories)

This is one of those workouts we’ve done before and is awful every time it comes up.

I did Rx for everything but the box jumps, which I ended up doing step-ups for after one round. And I was definitely the slowest of our crew. My rounds went:

  1. 25/15/10/15/10
  2. 17/10/10/15/10
  3. 15/15/10/12/8

My total: 197. The ladies did awesome – Andrea got 202 and Jem got 281. They beat the snot out of me. πŸ™‚Β I don’t remember what I got the last time we did this, but I expect it was about 200 last time too, maybe less.

That said – I’m alive and looking forward to some front squats tomorrow. πŸ™‚

Thanks Drea and great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

