Let’s Get a Little Heavier…

Yesterday was a rest day. I did a little bit of mobility at home (some squats and push-ups mostly) but mostly it was “butt in chair” time. So I knew I had to somehow get into Crossfit Continuum for a workout today.

Sad-Panda-Meme-24My wife got to go this morning. But I had a meeting. Sad panda.

But I’ve taken to scheduling time in my work schedule for crossfit. Why? Because without it I might bite somebody’s head off.

So at 11:30 I packed up my stuff to head in for a noon workout. I got there in time to watch Bill and Jared finish up their workout. Bill was perfecting his ring muscle-ups and then I watched Jared do a strict one. Damn. I am getting stronger, but I’m definitely not there yet on either front!

January 21, 2016 at 0141PMAt noon it was Joel and I working with Coach Isaac, so we started with a 500m row, did some Spider-man lunges, knee hugs, squat-to-stand (Gorilla pose from yoga), Cossack squats, and then some fun work with an unloaded bar to help free up our shoulders a bit for the “high elbows” needed for front squats.

  • 1×3@80%
  • 1×3@85%
  • 1×3@90%
  • 1×3@85%
  • 1×3@80%

I’ve been pushing towards a new one rep max and feeling pretty good, so Isaac suggested I add 5 or 10 more pounds to the 80 and 85% numbers we used on Tuesday. I sandbagged a little on Tuesday with the 135#/155#/175# numbers, so I figured I’d have to add some weight. 🙂

January 21, 2016 at 0141PM (1)Started with a 135# warm-up where I just sat at the bottom for a few seconds. Did the same at 155#, then moved up…

  • 135# x1
  • 155# x1
  • 160# x3
  • 175# x3
  • 180# x3
  • 195# x3
  • 205# x3
  • 175# x3

My 205# squats felt heavy, but I’m looking forward to seeing what my new one rep max becomes next week. 🙂

After that was done, we did a little accessory work (some box squats, bent-over rows, and straight-legged deadlifts) that I did with an empty barbell. Got through two sets of 10 reps each and my back was bugging me a bit, so I stopped and started some mobility work at Isaac’s suggestion.

And then we were done. Had a great time visiting with Isaac and Joel. Very laid back session today. Thanks for a good class and pushing me a bit Isaac!

I do hope that Bill and Isaac both get to feeling better. Both were a bit under the weather and Jared was sneezing. And Joel is working on some hip issues, so hopefully he gets those taken care of soon too. Pain is no fun.

Meanwhile, Drea was there working on odds-n-ends so I tried not to bug her. 🙂

Hope everybody has a great day!

Leave a Reply

