Front Squats and More…

Let me start out by talking a bit about how I’m back to not sleeping well before we get into the day’s workout.

Clock Watching

Last night I slept anywhere from 10 minutes to an hour, would look at the clock, swear, and go back to sleep. I did that the night before as well. It makes the night go by very very slowly if you do that enough. Woke up like a zombie.

I thought I had this licked. (See “An Update on Sleep” from about a month ago.) Apparently not.

0511-1005-0201-0040_Black_and_White_Vintage_Cartoon_of_a_Man_Asleep_at_His_Desk_clipart_image

My routine hasn’t changed… still using a diffuser with some essential oils, drinking the sleep cocktail (or Progenex Cocoon, which is relatively new), playing nature sounds, etc. But it hasn’t worked diddly for the last couple of nights.

Eventually my body is just going to give up and crash at some point, but I need to figure this out. Dropping all caffeine from my diet is looking like it’s going to be something I have to try, which makes me a very sad little monkey.

Today’s WOD

Honestly I wasn’t all that enthusiastic about going in today but I knew I needed to do it. It wasn’t posted even as early as this morning, but I knew it would be front squats. So I got my stuff and headed in for an 8:30 class with Coach Heather after stumbling through about 90 minutes… I was joined by KC, Danielle, Sam, Maria, and Ashley. And we saw the 9:30 class come in for Coach Drea as we were finishing up.

january-19--2016-at-1010am (1)Warmed up with a 500m row, some knee hugs, hollow body rocks, jumping pull-ups, and Cossack squats… Then it was off to the races for some front squats.

Today we were supposed to do:

  • 1 x 5 @ 75%
  • 1 x 5 @ 80%
  • 1 x 5 @ 85%
  • 1 x 5 @ 80%
  • 1 x 5 @ 75%

All weights at a % of your one rep max. In my case, my numbers would be (off of the 215# soft 1RM we did last week): 160#, 170#, 180# (or thereabouts). I ended up with: 135#, 155#, and 175# – which all felt pretty good. But being tired and having my left hip and right shoulder cranky today I didn’t want to aggravate anything too badly.

Accessory Work

January 19, 2016 at 1010AM (1)Once that was done, we did some Accessory Work. A 10 minute AMRAP of:

  • 10 “L” Pull-ups
  • 10 weighted abmat sit-ups

Of course, the “L” pull-ups are strict and in an L shape (legs straight out in front of your body). I can barely do strict pull-ups, let alone get my legs to stay straight. So I did a modification with trying to keep my knees tucked, sort of like the top of a knees-to-elbows. I won’t say that I did it amazingly, but I got a few in that didn’t suck too badly and flopped around on the rest. Heather said if we can do 5 of those with pretty good form to stick with just 5, so I did.

And I used the Jason Khalipa med ball (25#) for my weighted sit-ups.

I made it through 5 rounds in 10 minutes, which wasn’t awful. 5 tucked strict pull-ups (or just strict pull-ups on a few) and 10 weighted sit-ups (25#) each round.

Yay team.

The Aftermath

I went in a bit surly and came out smiling and laughing, so the endorphins did their work. Thank you endorphins! 🙂

Had a good time with Heather, as always. And she had a good time with little JR (Danielle’s little one), so life was good!

Later today we’ll see if Caleb, our chiropractor, can put my right shoulder back where it goes and get everything else moving again in the right direction. 🙂

Thanks for a fun workout and great work everybody!

2 thoughts on “Front Squats and More…”

  1. For the (lack of) sleep thing, check your sugar intake as well. I find I don’t sleep as well when I go crazy on the sugar. If I cut back and stick with fruits, I usually fare better. Hope you can sort out your shoulder today and great job on the WOD!

    1. That’s a good point Val. I don’t think I’ve been doing too bad on sugar, but I did consume a lot of bread over the weekend, plus a few beers. I am finding that I sleep better without alcohol by a wide margin. It’s not as though I’m a big drinker – but apparently that one cider beer throws things out of whack.

      Caleb the Chiropractor put things back where they should be yesterday and I’m taking today as a rest day (though doing some yoga at home to try and work on mobility a bit)… Back to the box tomorrow for more front squats. 🙂

      Have a great day and thanks for chiming in!

Leave a Reply

