Ring Dips Make Me Twitchy

Saturday was fun, but all those pull-ups have left me more than a little sore. And this weekend was not the best for food intake. Pizza. Burgers. Fries. Cider beers. All tasty, but unhealthy. I think I may have heard my pores screaming as I was sweating all that crud out during today’s workout!

January 18, 2016 at 1122AM (1)As you might have guessed, I made it to Crossfit Continuum for a class today. I went with Mickey (she and her sister had the day off from school today for MLK day) to the 9:30 class with Coach Stacy. And Coach Bill helped out a bit as well. The place was hopping for sure… we had Lisa, Jonathan and Sarah, Mike, Dan, Karen, Sam, Patti, and one or two other folks. Plus a few folks from the 8:30 class hung out to cheer us on – Lori, Deana, and Larry. Told you it was hopping!

We started with a 500m row or 400m run (a bit chilly outside for me to run, but I considered it oh so briefly). Then we did jumping ring dips, marching bridge, crab walk forward and back, PVC pass-thrus, and a few other things. Once all that was done, we grabbed some empty barbells and did some deadlift warm-ups. And once that was done we looked at strict ring dips.

January 18, 2016 at 1122AM (2)What was today’s workout?ย 21-15-9 reps for time of:

  • 275/195-lb. deadlifts
  • Strict ring dips

There were a few variations, but that about summed it up.

Though I warmed up to a 275# deadlift, I decided to save myself a little bodily wear and tear and dropped to 255#. My one rep max is 355# but I’ve been having some issues with my left hip and didn’t want to cause more damage by going for speed.

And though I did a few strict ring dips without the band, I did the majority of them with a green band. ย So this was definitely not a Rx workout for me today and I’m perfectly fine with that. Scaling is good.

Mickey did her deadlifts at 105# and we shared the banded ring setup for a while. She dropped to box dips somewhere in the round of 15’s.

January 18, 2016 at 1122AMSo how’d we do?

Well Coach Stacy said we should shoot for 12 minutes or less. Mickey was done in 8:19 and I was done in 12:11. Quite honestly I’ll take that as it was in the ballpark. ๐Ÿ™‚

According to the board, the fastest folks were in 7 minutes and I was the slowest (though there were quite a few folks in that 11 minute range), but I’ll still take it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Great work folks!

The “twitchy” part comes in post-WOD… we did some mobility but by the time I got home, my forearms were fired up and were twitching like mad. Who knew?

All things being unequal, I’ll take that as a Monday morning workout. I’m sure we’re back to some front squats tomorrow, which is fine. We’ll see how we do. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

