Team WOD Saturday – Too Many Reps?

It’s Saturday. What does that mean? Well, it’s varied wildly of late. This week it means a team workout at Crossfit Continuum. 🙂

Though Evie is working today, I grabbed the girls and we headed in… but after hearing what was in store for us, I was second guessing myself. That however is one of the tricks of crossfit. By the time you’re there and have been seen, it’s usually too late to try and make a stealthy escape. 🙂

January 16, 2016 at 0129PMWe didn’t really warm up today. The first part of the workout did that for us. We divided up into teams of 3 or four and I worked with Robert, Katie, and Lindsey. Mickey and AJ worked with Kaila (happy birthday!). And there were lots of other folks. It was definitely a full house. Probably 20 of us or more. At least 4 teams, probably 5.

This was a doozy in two parts.

Part A had a 20 minute time cap and each team approached it in waterfall fashion… only one person could do a particular movement at a time:

  • 20 calorie row or 400m run
  • 30 burpees
  • 30 ground-to-overheads (95/65#)
  • 30 toes-to-bar (or knees-to-elbows)
  • 30 overhead walking lunges (each foot, 45/25# plate overhead)
  • 100m sprint

Once that was done, we fell into Part B, which had a 30 minute time cap…

  • 250 chest to bar pull-ups (or regular pull-ups)
  • 250 kettlebell swings (53/35#)
  • 250 double-unders (singles counted 2 for 1)
  • 250 overhead squats (95/65#)

The first part honestly wasn’t awful for me. The row went fast and I was last to go, so I only got to the ground-to-overheads. I did 15 snatches and 14 clean & jerks before we ran out of time.

The second part however… holy cow. That’s too many reps! We did our pull-ups in 3-5 rep sets and went down the line. Robert was rocking the chest to bars, but I was just barely doing the pull-ups. By the end the ladies were doing ring rows.

The kettlebell swings weren’t awful. I felt like I could rock out 10 or 15 at a pop and did pretty well.

The single-unders were ok for a bit as well.

It was the OHS that were horrible. My grip and shoulders were fried from all the pull-ups and kettle bell swings so I used the ladies’ 65# bar. And even with the lighter weight I couldn’t keep my left shoulder happy. My form was awful. Coach Drea stopped by and gave me some tips, then suggested I just do some back squats, so I did. 🙂

We got through 85 of the OHS reps (mixed) before we ran out of time. Mickey, AJ, and Kaila got to about 27 I think they said. Only one or two teams finished I think, which is crazy. 1,000 reps of anything is insane.

So we had a good time. I’m tired now. 🙂

Great work to everybody! It was a killer!

Leave a Reply

