Some days are better than others

Yesterday was a “rest day” that turned into about a 15 hour work day. That of course spilled into this morning for a couple of hours before I wanted to go work out as well, so with a bit of sleep deprivation and no breakfast I entered into today’s workout with trepidation… But I wanted to workout with my wife, so as she says – it was time to “Suck it up, Buttercup.”

front-squat-300x280For Drea’s 8:30 class, Ev and I were joined by Danielle, Sam, Janet, and Melissa (?) – Todd’s wife. By the time we were done, we saw Jimmy, Caleb, and another one or two folks come in for the 9:30 class.

We started with a 500m row and then did some other stretching – pigs-on-skates, grasshoppers, knee hugs, a few roll-to-candlesticks, air squats, wall squats, etc. My left knee was a bit cranky today but I suspect it was from sitting on my butt all day yesterday. I tried to fit in a few stretches here and there but there was a lot of sitting. I didn’t feel that I got in a ton of stretching, but we’d see how it went.

After that we started the strength portion of the day… more front squats.

  • 4×10 @ 55-60%

Four sets of 10 at 55 to 60% of our new 1RM (or the weight we did on Tuesday). So I figured with 215 that 115 would be a good weight. It was close to 55% and with a cranky knee, I decided I’d rather be safe than sorry. That said, I had a new problem.

I have some flexibility issues in my wrists and forearms apparently – my left especially. So I tried rolling it out a bit on the barbell but it didn’t really release. I need to maybe do some voodoo flossing with a band but didn’t have time to fit it in today.

I managed to get in one set of 5+5, one of 7+3, and two sets of 7. It wasn’t perfect. And it wasn’t the weight – it was the position. I love it when my left arm starts to go to sleep after holding onto the bar for a few reps in a front rack position. Not.

20160114_093847But it was after that that the true fun really began. A “short” burner. 3 rounds for time:

  • 12 wall balls
  • 12 burpees
  • 24 double-unders or 48 singles

Can I just say how much that sucked? We were supposed to shoot for 5 minutes or less. HAHAHA! I said… “Usually I just double whatever time you say, so it would be 10 minutes. But today I think I’ll say 8 minutes. That sounds doable.” Boy was I wrong.

I got through the first round without stopping… took me 2:30. It was awesome. But the suck started when I got back to burpees. By the time I was done with everything it was 10:10. Should have gone with my gut estimate. 🙂

Other folks were done in 6-7 minutes in our class. Some earlier folks were done in less than 5 minutes.

There’s just something about those short burst, multiple round WODs that involve more than one movement where I run into issues. I’m sure that not eating breakfast didn’t help. But catching my breath today was a problem and my knees were burning by the end. Yay!

Anyway… Was not my finest hour today, but that’s ok. One day at a time.

Great work everybody!

Leave a Reply

