8 Minutes of Monday

So after Saturday’s long day of training (see “A Busy Day of Yoga and Weight Training“), I was concerned that I wasn’t going to be able to move all that well on Sunday. I was sore, but not unusually so, and I counted that as a success (or as a result of my Advocare Nighttime Recovery).

Screenshot_2016-01-11-10-56-21That leads us to today. Wasn’t a great night of sleep (was out late and wired on caffeine when I got home, might have had 3-4 hours of sleep if I was lucky). Luckily I only had a couple of meetings this morning before I had time to steal away to Crossfit Continuum.

When I arrived, the 8:30 class was finishing up. I saw Monica, Danielle, KC, and Janet doing some “accessory” work. Coach Drea was wandering around with little JR (Danielle’s baby boy) who looked happy as a clam. But I wasn’t fooled. Monica stopped me and said it wasn’t a fun WOD. 😉

For the 9:30 class it was me, Andrea, Jenny, and Carrie. We started with a short row (500m) and then did some push-ups, jumping pull-ups, some hollow body holds, grasshoppers, and my favorite – roll-to-candlestick. That warm-up would come in handy during the WOD itself.

Today’s workout was simple. On an 8-minute running clock, do one minute each of:

  • Squats
  • Push-ups
  • 20″ box jumps
  • Pull-ups
  • Inverted burpees (roll-to-candlestick followed by kicking up on the wall in a handstand)
  • Wall-balls, 20# ball
  • Burpees
  • Double-unders (or singles)

Simple enough. We should all be able to do a minute of something, right?

20160111_102959I only had to scale a couple of things. My roll-to-candlesticks were awful, but I ended up rolling up to crossed feet and using my hands to help myself up before kicking on the wall. And I did singles instead of doubles.

So how’d I do? 110 of my 154 reps were squats, push-ups, and double-unders. The other 44 reps were comprised of the other movements. I did get three inverted burpees at least.

It wasn’t body pain – just the fact that I was winded – that sucked. Catching my breath was the hardest part. I really need to figure out a good method for breathing during these short burst (and longer ones too) workouts.

Everyone else rocked it. Carrie got 180, Jenny got 195, and Andrea got 196. They all did single jumps too, but did awesome. Looked like Dan (Monica’s husband) rocked the workout hard this morning getting 241 reps (doing singles). His was the highest score on the board I saw.

Once that was done, we did some accessory work. The ladies worked on kipping pull-ups while I worked on more Prescribed/deficit handstand push-ups (got one to go off of 10# plates with one abmat, but it was a struggle). And they shifted to HSPUs while I floundered for a bit at double-unders. Someday I’ll figure those out.

But overall not bad for a Monday workout. 🙂 We’ll see  how the front squats tomorrow (my guess) go in the morning.

Great work everybody! Hope you all have a great day!

 

Leave a Reply

