A Busy Saturday of Yoga and Weight Training

Yesterday was crazy. I think in the past I’ve maybe only once or twice done a workout during the day and then a session of yoga later that same day. A few hours of recovery, both mental and physical, seems to be a good thing for me. But this weekend we pushed that to a whole new place. And by the end my body was telling me I pushed it to a new extreme (which is why I didn’t write this up last night – I was exhausted, though it was a good exhausted!).

weirdmasteStarted with 9 am yoga over at CrossFit 719 with our yogi Ridds. As always, that was fun and got the body moving for a good hour. The whole family went and I think it set the day off on a good note. We did not stay for the team WOD because Ev and I had other plans.

We then had about 90 minutes to chill and relax at home. Got some water and Rehydrate, a little food, a bit of TV, and then we were off again.

Where to? This time – CrossFit Pick It Up just about a mile from us. It’s a box that’s new to us but moved nearby about half a year ago (into a storefront where n old pack-and-ship store was when we first moved back to Colorado about a decade ago). We knew nothing about the place  or the people, but had signed up for an Olympic weightlifting seminar with Jared Enderton for the day and it was being held there. So we killed two “firsts” in one fell swoop – attended a new crossfit box and a weightlifting seminar. 🙂

crossfit-pickitup-logo1009-2280Coach Bill at Continuum suggested Jared’s seminar for me a few weeks ago and Ev amazingly had the day off so we went together. Great way to spend an afternoon as a couple, don’t you think? 🙂 Neither one of us had any idea what to expect from the seminar, but were curious to see how it would go.

We arrived just after Coach Jared and Coach Tami (coach and owner at CrossFit Pandora’s Box) got there and met Coach Matt, who is the owner of Pick It Up. There were also a handful of other folks, most of whom attended Pick It Up as athletes. One of them (Addison?) actually works with our friend Lyle from Continuum, so that was a cool connection. And Matt of course knows Jimmy and Drea from Continuum. It’s a pretty good community of crossfitters down here in the Springs, which is fun. And I discovered that Matt knew me by reputation as well from my “epic Facebook check-ins” and write-ups, so that was really funny – and a bit humbling!

LOGO-280x230Once we were all checked in, Jared got started with a bit about who he is, where he comes from, and what his philosophy is. I would encourage you to go to his Enderton Strength website to get his story, but he comes across as a great guy with a passion for movement in general and weightlifting specifically. During the seminar we’d be focusing on two lifts – the Olympic snatch and the clean and jerk. Funny enough, neither of them are among my best lifts. (Not sure I have a “best lift” now that I’m thinking about it!)

Over the next five hours (we started about noon and went to a bit after 5 pm with a couple of 10-15 minute breaks), he talked a bit but I’d say we did a good 3-4 hours of getting on the bar. The majority of it was focused on starting position of hands, butt, knees, and shoulders. Though we’ve worked on “hook grip” at our box a bit, I’ve never really developed a hang for it – but on Saturday I think I did finally get over the hump to the point where I may use it more going forward. And I’ll definitely have a different approach to the bar, which may help with consistency as well.

We spent some time going for a “max” snatch and I worked from the bar I started with (65#) up to 115#, which is still below my 1RM of 145# but still decent. I have things to ponder as we move forward at the box and I may do some work to try and harness the techniques we focused on.

After our last break we worked on the clean & jerk and I knew I was approaching critical mass body-wise. That was about 3.5 hours after we started and my knees, hips, and back were complaining quite a bit. What surprised me though was how fired up my shoulders were. We did some shoulder press with an unloaded barbell and I wondered what the heck I’d gotten myself into. 🙂

I didn’t get very far with the clean & jerk, but went from a PVC pipe and empty bar (45#) back up to 125#. My one rep max here is 185# or so, but I was having issues picking up the bar off the ground, let alone getting it all the way overhead.

Long story short, I had a great time and learned a lot from Coach Jared and Coach Tami. I think Evie did too.

To put it frankly, they definitely “know their shit.” If you get an opportunity to train with either of them at Pandora’s Box or another of Jared’s seminars, I think you’d get a lot out of the experience.

That being said, I suspect that nearly 6 solid hours of physical movement might have been a bit too much for this computer geek’s 45 year old body, but I’m still alive and smiling today so I guess it didn’t kill me. 🙂

For more information about these places, check out:

Next week it’s back to Continuum for the regular routine. I’m hoping for no Filthy Fifty or Karen on the horizon while my body gets back to some sense of “Regular” – whatever the heck that is!

Have a great weekend folks!

2 thoughts on “A Busy Saturday of Yoga and Weight Training”

Leave a Reply

