Front Squats and Angry Knees

Yesterday I faced the Filthy Fifty and came up short. Today my body told me just how many things are out of whack when I was doing front squats. Great start to 2016, not. 😦

Today is the last day of my vacation and the last day before the girls go back to school, so it was nice to get the whole clan into the box for a workout. And today we got to work with Coach Heather, which is always fun. But we weren’t alone… Larry, KC, Janet, and Ashley joined the four of us.

20160105_102735Started with a 400m run. And can I just say that running in new shoes was a challenge? I got a new pair of Nano 5’s for Christmas and the darn things are really stiff.

When we got back inside, we did a variety of movements including slow air squats, Spider-man lunges, grasshoppers, knee hugs, pigs-on-skates, and my personal favorite – roll-to-candlestick. When all that was done, we split up and headed to the many weight racks to start from front squats…

  • 5 @ 75%
  • 5 @ 80%
  • 5 @ 85%
  • 5 @ 80%
  • 5 @ 75%

front-squat-300x280And when that was done we were to do some skill work. 3 sets with 2-3 minute rest in-between:

  • 10 front rack lunges
  • 10-20 GHD sit-ups or weighted sit-ups
  • 10 front rack step-ups

So how’d we do?

Honestly we haven’t done front squat PRs in forever. The last numbers I have were 185# for a 1RM back in 2013. So using that as a base I should have done 140#, 150#, 160# or so. I ended up doing 135#, 135#, 155#, 135#, 135#.

My left knee is CRANKY. I blame the box jumps, but I’m sure it’s just from all the abuse of the last few weeks. Need to go see our good friend and chiropractor Caleb. 🙂

That made the lunges and step-ups hairy for me. After talking with Heather, I modified the skill work to be:

  • 10 body weight lunges (no bar)
  • 20 weighted sit-ups with the Khalipa med ball (25#)
  • 10 good mornings with an empty bar

Took a while to get through that. But I managed.

How’d everybody else do?

  • Mickey hit 75# on the front squats
  • AJ hit 35# on the front squats
  • Ev hit 105# on the front squats

And they all did fine on the skill work.

So all in all I’d say we survived. 🙂

Tomorrow will be a rest day. We’ll see if I can squeak in to see Caleb at some point.

Have a great day folks and thanks Heather for keeping us moving (and helping me adjust for my angry knee)!

Leave a Reply

