Hitting the Wall

Today is the 4th of January, 2016… We didn’t get a workout in for the first three days of the new year, but today we got back to Crossfit Continuum to rectify that situation. And I almost wish I had stayed home.

I got to work out with my whole family today, plus a huge group of other folks… Elyse, Brent, Sam, Danielle, Lisa, Andrea, and a few new folks. We had folks everywhere. The class before us was Larry, Mike, and a new gal whose name I didn’t catch – and they all did great.

Though I have been dreading this workout for several days, I honestly just wanted to get it done. Because of the length of the workout (500 reps for time) we didn’t get much of a warm-up, but we Fitzy’s arrived early enough to get some good mobility and stretching in, so I wasn’t too worried about that. We did a 500m row and were pretty much off to the races gathering equipment and finding a place.

Filthy-FiftyIf you don’t know about the Filthy Fifty, it’s one of those “named” workouts in Crossfit that lives in infamy.

  • 50 Box jump, 24 inch box
  • 50 Jumping pull-ups
  • 50 Kettlebell swings, 1 pood
  • Walking Lunge, 50 steps
  • 50 Knees to elbows
  • 50 Push press, 45 pounds
  • 50 Back extensions
  • 50 Wall ball shots, 20 pound ball
  • 50 Burpees
  • 50 Double unders (or 100 singles)

Essentially this workout is 500 reps for time. It’s insane.

I grabbed Mike’s equipment (53# kettle-bell, 45# bar, box, 20# med ball) from the last class and found a jump rope. Figured out where I would do my jumping pull-ups and was as ready as I was going to be.

My scaled approach changed a couple of things:

  • Box jumps and step-ups to a 20″ box
  • Single jumps instead of double-unders
  • Good Mornings with the 45# bar instead of back extensions on the GHD machine

Everything else I could pretty much do, or so I thought.

dnfI was slow, but chugging forward until I got to the push press, which I did strict (no knee bounce) because of the light bar. By the time I got to the Good Mornings, my arms were complaining. But I think it was the bouncing of the head up and down that really pushed me over the edge.

I got to the wall balls and the room was spinning. I only got through 10 wall balls before I had to sit down. I was done. Standing up is kind of important and if I couldn’t do a wall ball, burpees were going to be impossible.

Coach Bill later told me the color in my face wasn’t right and asked if I’d eaten. I did – had a good breakfast (three eggs with a bit of bacon for an omelet with my cup of coffee). But the day before I really only had one meal – lunch. Sometimes I just forget to eat. I did make a sandwich for dinner, but it was pretty minimal.

So a couple of things…

First, the Filthy Fifty is awful. And we have to do it again at the end of the month. Looking forward to this WOD less than I did for Karen (150 wall balls for time), which is saying something.

Second, I have to remember to eat better before one of these “chipper” workouts. I seem to be good up to about 30 minutes. Past that, my lack of conditioning comes into play and now apparently it also involves my diet which has been a bit wonky over the last month or so.

This month we’re falling back to a more paleo diet and one cheat meal a week. That will help with weight loss for me, but it may come with a cost to my strength due to not eating enough. We’ll see how that works. We may add in a couple of snacks a day like we did with the Zone diet and see if that helps keep us more fueled.

Anyway… Today was a DNF. Everything is up from there, so the next time should be a bit better. Hopefully.

I got through 360 of the 500 reps in about 42 minutes and my body gave up. Or I gave up because my body was reacting poorly. Either way, it was unpleasant and something I’d rather not repeat.

We shall see.

Everybody else did amazing, so great work folks!

3 thoughts on “Hitting the Wall”

  1. I’ve never done Filthy 50, it looks brutal! When I know I’m doing an endurance, longer WOD, I make sure I get a good breakfast and I add extra carbs (a banana, typically) 30-45 mins before I leave the house. It usually works for me at keeping the tank somewhat fueled.

    1. Food is one of those things that I seem to fail at frequently. In this case however, I think that was only part of it. I tend to do well at 30 minutes or less kinds of workouts and fail more frequently when it goes beyond that conditioning limit I seem to have. It’s a challenge. We’ll get there.

      Thanks for the suggestions!! I’ll see about doing a bit better on the food front going forward.

      1. Trust me! I know about conditioning! I’m no powerhouse and am pretty slow at the longer WODs, I usually try to give myself a 3-deep-breaths little rest break and then I keep trucking along! It’s helped me to keep going without losing too much time

Leave a Reply

