Karen is still a dirty word

We knew it was coming. A retest on Karen. It’s part of the “In the Zone” challenge that our trainers are doing at Crossfit Continuum. We did Karen at the beginning of December. It was going to come around eventually… but dang. I am still not a fan.

So the 8:30 class was wrapping up when we got there. A few folks (Larry) were milling about. And Mickey and I were part of the 9:30 class. We were joined by Coach Bill (Coach Andrea was already there) and soon we had Lisa, Andrea, Karen, Connie, and the two of us warming up for Bill.

Started with a team 1500 meter row. Each of us rowed 250m. And somehow that was the easiest part of the whole thing. We did some work with wall ball cleans (Bill had me use the Jason Khalipa 25# ball to warm up), wall ball front squats, some squats, and even a few wall balls (among a few other things). I was happy to ditch the 25# wall ball for a 20# one. πŸ™‚

20151230_102348After that we found our spots on the wall, settled on the music selection for the class (thank you Jimmy), and started off on our wall balls.

If you don’t remember, Karen is 150 wall balls for time. I had a time of 16:21 last time. We’ve seen people do it in 5-7 minutes, but most folks are in that 9-12 minute area. I was above and beyond that. Today was no different.

I tried to stick with a 15 or 10 rep scheme as long as I could, but my knees, quads, and left hip were all complaining bitterly. Not fun. So I’d do a set, walk and stretch, do another set, repeat…

On the plus side, I did manage to improve on my time. I hit 15:47 today, which was a 34 second improvement. I’ll take it. πŸ™‚

20151230_102343Mickey did it in 11:36. I think she was right around 12 last time too, so she did well. That was after playing three separate indoor soccer games yesterday, so I was impressed she was still moving. We’ll see how she does at a game this afternoon.

My knees are complaining. I’m sure other parts will eventually too, but daaaang. I hope we don’t have to do it again for a few months!!

That’s it for now. Great work everybody! Thanks for pushing me forward Bill – I only swore at you once or twice. πŸ™‚

Once we were done, it was time for some measurements. Didn’t change much, but did gain a few pounds. Gotta love the holidays.

Hope everybody has a great day!

 

Leave a Reply

