Slow Mary Monday

We didn’t make it to the team workout on Saturday at Crossfit Continuum, but I still want to take advantage of my time off to get more workouts in… So we were back at it again today.

Though my youngest is feeling a bit under the weather, my eldest worked out with me today along with Andrea and Dallen (usually works out at 5am) under the watchful eye of Coach Stacy. We started with a 250m row then did some shoulder work (handstand shrugs, half-handstand push-ups, PVC pass-thrus) plus Cossack squats, flopping from Supermans to a hollow body position, and more.

It wasn’t too bad a warm-up. And then we tackled Mary, which is a 20 minute AMRAP of:

  • 5 handstand push-ups
  • 10 one-legged squats, alternating
  • 15 pull-ups

Apparently one-legged squats (or pistols) are quite popular on mainsite these days, so we’re wondering if they’ll be a part of the CrossFit Open when it starts in February…

PullupAll I can say is that I’m happy we’re going to go see Caleb, our friendly chiropractor, this afternoon. I have a mess of parts that are not where they ought to be…

Mickey got through 7 rounds plus 5, but had to scale a little. She did her pistols to a medball on a weight plate and ended up dropping to ring rows after she ripped her hands about halfway through doing pull-ups.

I managed to get through nearly 4 rounds myself. Just couldn’t keep pull-ups going for anything. My shoulders were angry. I’d get through 5 and then have to do 2 or 3 at a time until I got done with 15.

HSPUs weren’t much better. I only think there was one round I did straight through without stopping and that was strict, not kipping. I did the first set with only one mat, which was cool. And I kipped those.

I really should have managed 4 full rounds but I got through 3 + 26. I was only 4 pull-ups away but couldn’t get there.

Slow was the word for the day. But that’s ok. It’s Monday.

Later this week I have to do Karen again and I’m not looking forward to 150 wall balls for time. Not at all. It took me a week to recover the last time we did it. But we’ll see what tomorrow brings.

Hope everybody has a great day!

 

Leave a Reply

