12 Days of Christmas…

Wow. I’m not the biggest fan of Christmas. You could call me a Humbug or a Grinch. But I love the giving of gifts. Don’t care if I receive any, but I am happy to give.

Today with the 12 Days of Christmas at Crossfit Continuum I think I gave until my shoulders said “hell no, it’s time to stop”. And I had to listen. 🙂

It’s been a tradition the last few years to do the 12 Days on Christmas Eve at our box. So the whole family piled in the car at 8am to get started at 8:30. We were definitely not alone. I think we had 25-30 people at least there for the first round (a second round started after 10) and wow the place was hopping.

Started with a 400m jog around the complex (the parking lot was a little slick with snow, so we stuck to the sidewalks and stairwells), then did a series of back and forth movements when we were all back inside… high knees, Cossack squats, lunges, squats, and a few other things. Coach Jimmy was leading the charge. 🙂

After that we just had to decide if we were doing the “Naughty” or “Nice” versions of the day’s workout…

Nice

  1. 400m run
  2. Box jumps 30/24″
  3. Handstand Push-ups
  4. Clean & Jerks 135/95#
  5. Push-ups
  6. Toes-to-Bar
  7. Kettlebell Swings 53/35#
  8. Double Unders
  9. Ring Dips
  10. Pistols
  11. Pull-ups
  12. Thrusters 135/95#

Naughty

  1. 400m run
  2. Hang Power Cleans 95/65#
  3. Front squats 95/65#
  4. Clean & Jerks 95/65#
  5. Back squats 95/65#
  6. Push Press 95/65#
  7. Thrusters 95/65#
  8. Squat Cleans 95/65#
  9. Push Jerks 95/65#
  10. Hang Power Snatch 95/65#
  11. Overhead Squats
  12. Sumo Deadlift High Pulls

How’d We Do?

So I’ll preface this whole thing by saying that a 400m jog should not be that bad, but 12 of them is and I don’t like running under the best of circumstances. The usual route we run is pretty flat and doesn’t involve stairs, but today did. I think the stairs were almost the worst part of the whole thing next to all the other worst parts.

I chose the Naughty side because I thought it would be slightly easier than the Nice side for me. But I think I foxed myself.

Mickey and AJ did the Nice side and finished the whole thing.

  • Mickey – 54:48
  • AJ – 55:55

Ev and I did the Naughty side. She finished. I didn’t.

  • Ev – 91:20 or so
  • Me – got through round 9 and into round 10 when my shoulders screamed bloody murder on the first hanging power snatch. I then walked three of the 400m rounds to complete that part of the workout anyway.

The 10:30 crew was starting as we left and we wished everybody a Merry Christmas on our way out. I’m not sure I’ll be moving much by tonight, let alone tomorrow or Saturday.

Even so, we wish everybody a very Happy Holidays! Hope you enjoy time with family and friends!

Leave a Reply

