My nemesis – squat cleans

In the continuing attempt this week to see how long my body holds out doing multiple crossfit workouts, I made it in for the second WOD of the week… And today it wasn’t just our daughters that went, but my wife too!

We were there in time to see the 8:30 class finish up with Coach Drea… Larry, Marianne, and Ashley were finishing up all their hanging squat cleans as we arrived, so we got to say hey. And then we had a fun class with Connie, Danielle, and all of us. 🙂

The warm-up was a 500m row and then some odds-n-ends. Pigs on skates, squat to stand, Cossack squats, and some shoulder stretching. Why? Because we were going to stress our hips, wrists, and forearms.

clean-pull-illustrationIt was a strength series of hanging squat cleans…

  • 5-5-3-3-3-1-1-1-1 reps

Starting with the 75/80% of your one rep max and working your way up.

Most of us didn’t really have “hang squat clean” 1RM numbers to go off of today, so we kind of ballparked it. My one rep max clean is 195#, but damn if everything didn’t feel heavy today. I started with 95#, went to 115#, 135#, 145#, and 155#. I was able to power clean 155# but not squat clean it though I tried a few times.

There’s something about this movement that still evades me… But I was happy that, though I was slow, it was more of a continuous motion from clean to squat instead of two separate movements. I noticed some mobility issues with my wrists at lower weights (95#) which went away as I added more. But it got a little easier to hold the bar as we moved forward.

Again, I should have taped my knees but I’ll do that for tomorrow. We’ll see how it goes. 🙂

How’d the rest of the Fitzy’s do?

  • Ev did a 115# hang squat clean, which is a 10# PR over her one rep clean numbers from back in September
  • Mickey hit 85# and almost got to 95#
  • AJ hit 70#

Great work everybody! Hopefully Drea, Logan, Lisa, and Connie had fun with the advanced class after we left. Lots of clean & jerks!

Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

