Rope climbs?

It’s the first official day of my “vacation” for the holidays, so of course we had to do crossfit in addition to taking care of several things on the list… And now I’m exhausted. Why am I exhausted on vacation? Geesh!

Anyway, I made it to Crossfit Continuum this morning with the girls to see what fun our coaches had in store for us. Mickey, AJ, and I were joined by a fun assortment of folks – Deana, Connie, Monica, Kaila, Dan, Sam, Brent, and Lisa – and we had Coach Stacy today. Other than the occasional Saturday team WOD I haven’t been in one of Stacy’s classes, so it was a nice change.

We started with a 400m run in the Slip-and-Slide that is the parking lot. I almost biffed it at least once and I wasn’t alone. Not my best run by any stretch. When we got back inside we did a mix of things including crab walks, bear crawls, arm swings, and other fun movements.

climbing-rope-atje23--853-pThe day’s workout though was truly entertaining. It was a 20 minute AMRAP that included:

  • 15-ft. rope climbs, 2 ascents (or 10 reps of some variety of pull-ups)
  • 20 one-legged squats, alternating
  • 40 double-unders (or 80 singles)

Other than the very modified rope climb where you lie on the ground at the bottom of the rope and haul your body up hand over hand until you’re standing and then lower yourself back down to the ground again, I’ve not had a chance to figure that movement out. And with nearly a dozen of us running around, I took the pull-up option today.

I also did one-legged squats (pistols) modified today. Standing on a 20″ box, I slowly lowered myself to the ground while leaning over the bent leg on top of the box. I alternated legs and did 20 of those.

20151221_102324And double-unders are still not in my wheel house, so it was singles.

As you can see, I modified every single movement to some degree today and I was not alone. 🙂

So how’d we do?

  • I managed to get through 4 complete rounds plus 6 pull-ups with my mods
  • Mickey got through 4 rounds plus 37 doing pull-ups, pistols on the rig, plus singles.
  • AJ did 7 rounds doing jumping pull-ups, pistols on the rig, and singles.

Stacy said to shoot for 5 rounds, so 4+ was decent. Not great, but decent.

Someday I’ll work on rope climbs. I promise.

Back again tomorrow! Crossfit all week!!

Thanks Stacy and great work everybody! Hope you all have a great day!

Leave a Reply

