The post-snow-day-WOD

Yes, I was planning on going to Crossfit Continuum on Tuesday. Then we had a two hour delay for the girls school district which turned into a full day cancellation. And my wife was home. And we had our friend Danielle over… It was chaotic.

In the midst of all of that, I worked a full day and didn’t get to crossfit. Bummer.

20151216_102317So today, though I usually skip Wednesdays, I felt I had to get in. Amazingly, after another meeting, I did!

It was me, Lyle, Andrea, and Jodi this morning for Coach Drea. We started with a 500m row and shifted to some bridge ups, high knees, bounding, a few box jumps, and so on to get going. Today we would need our knees to be bouncy!

The workout was a 10 minute AMRAP:

  • 10 box jumps, 30/24″ box
  • 20 weighted sit-ups (at least a 15# weight)

I’m back to the point where 20″ box jumps feel pretty good. I haven’t tried 24″ box jumps much of late (though I know I should). So the 30″ jumps were out of the question. But I used a 20# medicine ball for the weighted sit-ups.

20151216_102313Pretty much we were off to the races! It looked like earlier classes were getting through 5 or 6 rounds, so that was what I set out to do with my modifications.

Though I wrote down 5 + 14, I shortchanged myself. I actually got through 5 + 24 and was only 6 sit-ups away from completing that 6th round.

Lyle kicked butt with 30″ box jumps and a 53# kettle bell on his chest, completing 7 + 3.

Andrea got through 5 + 8. And Jodi did 7 + 5 (modified).

They all kicked butt, as per usual. And honestly this one was not too bad. I got through 60 box jumps at 20″ and 114 weighted sit-ups. I’ll take it!

Thanks Drea and great work everybody! Hope you all have a great day!

Leave a Reply

