An Update on Sleep

Earlier this year I wrote about some of the strange sleep remedies I’ve been trying. After a little success, I thought I’d post an update.

Sense from Hello

Screenshot_2015-12-07-08-55-51I’ve been looking for a simple sleep tracker that I don’t have to wear on my body and found “Sense” by Hello. This has three components:

  • An in-room sensor
  • A “clip” that pins to your pillow
  • and an app

Essentially movement on the pillow is tracked by the in-room sensor (which also tracks things like noise, light, temperature, and humidity), which then uses Bluetooth to communicate with the app, which sends data back to the Hello servers for analysis.

Now, I won’t say that it’s perfect, but it does give me plenty of data to look at. I like seeing when I go to bed and when I get up, for instance, as well as when I toss and turn overnight. I’m usually up a couple of times and the sensor tracks that fairly well.

The “Sleep Score” is bunk as far as I’m concerned, but it’s nice to have a bit more data to play with.

Soothing Sounds

I’ve also added a new element over the last few weeks – a playlist from Amazon Prime Music that I play over our Amazon Echo internet-connected speaker in the bedroom. (I’m a huge fan of the Echo – we own three of them, one for each floor of the house now.) I play nature sounds (ocean waves, wind, etc.) for a few hours to help tune out my brain a little.

That seems to have helped.

10ml_72DPI_Good-Night_1024x1024Soothing Scents

And we now have a few “diffusers” for essential oils at the house. I’ve been doing a combination of DoTerra’s Lavender and Edens Garden’s Good Night Synergy blend (like DoTerra’s Serenity). I’ll be shifting over to Serenity when I run out of the Good Night blend.

Soothing Concoctions

ProductImage1And lastly I’ve been playing with Doc Parsley’s Sleep Cocktail.

This concoction purports to adjust your brain chemistry slightly to aid in a deeper sleep. One word to the wise – it is a tad bit expensive at about $2 a packet for 30. But it’s been having a good effect, so I’ll continue with it as long as I see results.

The Results…

I’ve tried each of these separately and in different combinations, but when I put them all together I have something I haven’t had for a long time… Actual dreams. That I remember.

9Tpedq7ac

That means… SUCCESS!

Is it perfect? Heck no. It’s a messed up conglomeration of things, but I have had more success with all of these tools used together than I have in a long time. And my dreams are just as messed up as I remember, so that may be a double-edged sword.

We will continue to play, but I wanted to update folks on the journey…

 

One thought on “An Update on Sleep”

Leave a Reply

