Saturday Team WOD

After doing Karen on Wednesday (150 wall balls for time), I have to say that my body and I weren’t really on speaking terms. It didn’t want to move for a while and I ended up skipping Thursday and Friday at the box to give it some time to cool off.

As it is, I was still moving a little slowly this morning. But we got up and headed into Crossfit Continuum for the morning team WOD. Though Ev had to work, I took the girls with me and we would see what was in store for us…

20151205_110236Coach Clare had an easy little warm-up – a little 400m run (it was sunny and felt pretty good this morning) and then 15 reps of a few things like PVC pass-thrus, squat-to-stands, and so on. And then we talked about the workout itself…

In teams of 4 or 5, we were to tackle…

A buy-in of a 4,000 meter row divided up among the team.

Then 5 rounds for time where each member rotated through the various movements for a minute each…

  • Box jumps
  • Push-ups
  • Med-ball sit-ups
  • Row for calories
  • Chest to Bar pull-ups, regular pull-ups, or ring rows
  • and a 1 minute rest

At the end, the cash out was a 200m Buddy Carry… everyone had to get carried at least once. 🙂

I got to work with Emily, Margaret, and Clara today. I’ve not worked with Margaret or Clara before so it was nice to meet some new folks!

We each rowed 1,000m to start and then the madness began. We had a plan when we started, but I think I threw things off because I forgot the “rest” period in the AMRAP in my first two rounds. That said, the ladies did amazing and outdid me at every turn, so I really didn’t have too much time to think about it.

I scaled a little with step-ups on the 20″ box, med ball sit-ups with a 14# medicine ball (should have used a 20# but figured it was ok), and regular kipping pull-ups. We also had an obstacle – the rower battery is dying so it would reset and take about 30 seconds to get through the set-up menu when it died.

At the end, Margaret carried Emily and I carried Clara and then the three ladies worked together to carry me. It was quite entertaining and I’m hoping that some of the pictures that Coach Clare took turn out. 🙂

We had a great turnout… The girls got to work with Kaila and another gal who happens to teach at AJ’s elementary school. Monica, Daniel, Caleb, Megan, and Brent worked together and Emily, Elizabeth, Larry, Jamal, and Stacy worked together. Clare just wandered around cheering folks on and keeping folks moving. 🙂

When it was all done, we also saw a few folks coming in for the Advanced lifting class that was after the team WOD. So it was a good day.

Now I’m tired. 🙂

Great work everybody and thanks for carrying my heavy self more than a few feet ladies!

Leave a Reply

