Fran is a Four Letter Word

There are days I like going to crossfit and then there’s days I don’t. Though today hasn’t been a bad day overall, it wasn’t a great day for me at the box.

Then

Let’s start at the beginning. We’ve been doing this “In the Zone” challenge at Crossfit Continuum. I did ok with it in October – not great – but ok. And kind of ignored it in November. That didn’t stop it from happening, but let’s just say I saw some gains along with my losses.

Back on November 9th we tested with Fran. I did it Rx in 16:49, which was awful. Lots of room for improvement, right?

HA!

Back to today…

Now

dunce1Arrived in time to watch the 8:30 class finish up… Lori, Mike, Casey, and a new gal were wrapping up Fran with Coach Drea. Turned out I was the only person in the 9:30 class, so I got some good 1-on-1 time with Drea. Even got to see Jimmy, which was a nice bonus.

Warmed up with a 500m row, 10 one-armed kettlebell thrusters with a 35# kettle-bell, 10 thorassic high fives, 10 roll to candlesticks (yay -not), 10 squat to stands, and 10 wall balls. Then warmed up with some light thrusters, kipping, and pull-ups on the bar.

Then it was time for Fran. This is one of those named workouts in crossfit that is somehow fitting that it’s four letters and begins with the letter “F”. I was swearing up a storm.

Fran, if you don’t remember, is:

  • 21-15-9, Thrusters (95/65#) and pull-ups

And though I finished thinking I was improving on my time (somehow I had a 20 minute time in my head, but didn’t look), I actually slowed down even further. 17:45 was my new time for a Rx fran. That’s nearly a minute slower than last time (16:49).

A full 56 seconds. Might as well be a minute. Ugh.

Measurements

And then we took measurements… I’m going the wrong way here.

  • Chest: Old – 42, New – 43.25 (+1.25)
  • Waist: Old – 40, New 40.5 (+.5)
  • Hips: Old – 40.75, New 41 (+.25)
  • Body fat: Old – 21.9%, New 22.1% (+.2%)
  • Wt (bad scale at box, but still…): Old – 219, New 225 (+6 lbs)

The Chest measurement is good… the rest, not so much.

I’m not a little guy, but I think I was about 232 at the beginning of the month according to my home scale and I was back to 234 at the end of the month. It’s not a big slide, but it’s a slide I’d like to stop.

Reset Time

I knew that November was going to be difficult. I always struggle with diet leading up to Thanksgiving (my favorite holiday) and this year was no different.

But I’m resetting again. Time to drop bread and alcohol for a couple of weeks to see where that gets me. I’m still not a fan of the Zone diet, but I can work on ensuring that I eat better nonetheless.

Onward!

One thought on “Fran is a Four Letter Word”

Leave a Reply

