Think yourself onto the box…

This week I have managed to take some vacation time and escape from work while my daughters have a holiday break. And that means… crossfit!

And today because my wife Ev is off we managed to go as a whole family unit to the 8:30am class at Crossfit Continuum with Coach Drea. We had quite a turnout for the class actually… Casey, Connie, Lisa, Monica, Kaila, Maria, and at least one other person were there. (The 9:30 class was pretty full too with Chad, Jeremy, Bill, Dan, Karen, Larry, Sam, and Andrea!)

So what did today’s WOD hold?

Well, we warmed up with a 400m jog or 500m row… then we did sets of 10 of things like half-handstand push-ups, pike push-ups, v-ups, knee-tuck jumps and a couple of other things along with a 30 second hand-stand hold.

20151123_093540From there we did some further warm-ups with handstand push-ups. We worked on tripod position (headstand with knees on elbows) and then kicking up or out to improve our kips – then tried to translate that to the wall. It’s something I definitely need to work on.

The workout itself was a 10-minute AMRAP consisting of…

  • 20 box jumps, 24/20-inch box
  • 10 handstand push-ups

Now, I am pretty funny about box jumps these days. I have a brain hiccup that makes me really have to think myself onto the box the first time and then I can do a few jumps. But getting over the hurdle of jumping up even 20″ is a challenge that takes seconds to complete. So I was by no means “fast” in this one.

As for the HSPUs, I did most of them strict with a few kipping ones thrown in for good measure. But I did ’em.

20151123_093536We were supposed to shoot for 4-8 rounds. HA! I was shooting for 4 and missed the mark because my brain was in the way. That actually happens a lot with me, so you’d think I’d be used to it by now. šŸ™‚

I made it through 3 complete rounds with a 20″ box and a mixture of strict and kipping HSPUs, plus 3 more box jumps. Honestly I’ll take it as a win.

How’d the rest of us do?

Ev got through 4 rounds plus 7 doing her box jumps on the big tire and inverted push-ups. Mickey got through 6 rounds Rx, which was impressive (though her HSPUs were a little shallow, she still did ’em!). And AJ got through 4 rounds plus 20 with inverted push-ups and jumping on the tire with Ev.

They did great! And we’ll all be going again tomorrow… Ev is going to shoot for an earlier class before she heads to work and the rest of us will go about the same time we did today. We’ll see how it goes. šŸ™‚

Should be more deadlifts and bench press, so I’m ready!

After we were done we did the now infamous “Darn-it Monica!” workout, which is 100 sit-ups for time. It has been forever since I’ve even attempted it and I ended up giving up after 30 of them. Just not in the cards today. But everyone else was done between 2:30 and 3:30 I think. They rocked it. šŸ™‚

Great work everybody! And thanks Drea for a fun workout.

Leave a Reply

