Wow, it’s been a week…

Today is Thursday, the 19th of November. My last post was on Thursday, the 12th of November. And I’ve done no crossfit between those two days. I did manage to get some yoga done with Yogi Ridds over at Crossfit 719 last Saturday morning with my daughters, and that was fun. But no crossfit. Not even a home WOD.

Does shoveling snow count? I did a little of that this week.

Probably not.

So I went back into Crossfit Continuum today at noon for a workout. There were only a few of us. Coach Drea and Joel were finishing off their workout as I got there. And it was Jonathan, Catherine, Joe, and I doing the day’s strength WOD.

We started with a 1,000m row and then jumped right into things.

Deadlifts

DLgripwidthFirst, we tested gravity with deadlifts. A 3-rep ladder…

  • 1×3@80%
  • 1×3@85%
  • 1×3@90%
  • 1×3@85%
  • 1×3@80%

I managed 275#, 295#, and 315# and worked on my switch grip (right hand over the bar, left hand under) since I need to practice that to get better at higher weights. I want to improve my 335# PR next week. 🙂

Bench Press

20151119_130038Then we worked on bench press. I wasn’t quite sure how I was going to do with it today since it’s been a week, but I was happy I had another spotter today. Jonathan did a bit heavier than I did, but we were close enough in weights it worked out.

It was another 3-rep ladder…

  • 1×3@80%
  • 1×3@85%
  • 1×3@90%
  • 1×3@85%
  • 1×3@80%

I managed 165#, 175#, and 185# today, so not awful.

Accessory Work

20151119_130047And then after that we did some “abdominal/accessory work.” What does that mean? Odds-n-ends. 12 reps of each movement for 3 rounds…

  • GHD sit-ups (or weighted ab mat sit-ups)
  • Single leg deadlifts with dumbells
  • Seated dumbbell shoulder press
  • Bicep curls with dumbells

I did one set of GHD sit-ups and weighted sit-ups for the rest, and used a set of 30# dumbells for the rest. Always entertaining. The single leg deadlifts prove how little balance I have with my right side over my left. Answer: not a lot.

But it felt great to get back into the box.

We’ll try and get in for a Saturday workout this weekend and then as much as we can next week. 🙂

Thanks for a fun workout Drea! Hope everybody has a terrific day!

Leave a Reply

