Cindy, 27 Days Later

Long story short, there were minor gains this month.

20151029_124715Short story long, it gets a bit wordier. πŸ™‚

We did Cindy back on October 2 at the beginning of the “In the Zone” challenge at Crossfit Continuum. We did Cindy as a checkpoint and took some measurements. The challenge was do go on the Zone Diet, eat better, and see how we fared with doing Cindy a second time later in the month.

Well, today is “later in the month,” so how’d I do?

The Diet

To be honest, the Zone Diet has been a bit hit or miss for me, largely because our schedules are insane with trying to keep up with two girls playing competitive soccer and a wife who likes to play soccer (indoor and outdoor) while having a busy career and running a non-profit that aids pets of homeless people in Colorado Springs. And I just have one job that I get to work from home to do and do a lot of writing on the side for my various other hobby interests.

Prep is a challenge. And repetition gets old. So when you add in the insanity factor, you get some churn.

We did really well for the first couple of weeks of the challenge and then… life happened and we ran out of oomph. But I’m hopeful that with the Fall soccer season wrapping up that November will be a better affair. πŸ™‚ (Hope springs eternal!)

That said, my biggest takeaway has been eating breakfast every day for nearly 5 weeks. I had been awful about breakfast for most of the previous year – it was hit and miss. Coffee was the only consistent thing most mornings. πŸ™‚ I think it’s made a huge difference in my endurance during morning workouts.

So I’ll take that away from the first month of the In the Zone challenge.

20151029_124711Cindy

So I mentioned that I did Cindy back at the beginning of October. I did:

  • 9 full rounds plus 3 reps, 273 total reps

Cindy, if you’ve forgotten, is aΒ 20 minute AMRAP with 5 pull-ups, 10 push-ups, and 15 air squats in each round.

Today we had a diverse class of folks… A few regulars and a few new faces, which was awesome. I met Jeremy who is moving here from Las Vegas and he did great, as did the other 4 or 5 new folks I didn’t get a chance to meetΒ (including another Jeremy I think). Beyond them we had Mike, Chad, and Marianne. So there were probably 10 of us or so, which was a fun number. And Coach Isaac had a fun time getting us all moving the right direction, but we all got there eventually. πŸ™‚

We started with a 400m run (or a 500m row for those of us who shun running), plus some push-ups, some fire hydrants, a dead hang on the rig for 30 seconds, and maybe one or two other things.

Isaac then went through a few things to make sure the new folks were familiar with the movements of Cindy and any scaling they needed.

And then it was off to the races. I ended up getting through:

  • 10 rounds plus 2, 302 total reps

So that was almost a full round better than I did last time. I’ll take it. I thought it was less than that, but apparently I did ok.

I got through four complete rounds doing regular push-ups before my arms started to give up. Rather than stop, I dropped to my knees and did push-ups that way. Scaling is always available and I’m not too proud to say that. πŸ™‚ There were a few times I had to convince my body to jump up to the pull-up bar, but overall I’m pretty pleased by even this minor improvement.

20151029_124754Measurements

Here’s the fun part. Measurements are always a tricky thing… It depends on the day, the person being measured, and the person doing the measuring. Thankfully I’m still me and Coach Drea was the same person who measured me last time. We used a less-than-accurate scale at the box (it’s a bit finicky), so I’m less worried about that. According to my home scale I’m down a couple of pounds.

So here’s the numbers…

  • Weight: 219 to 222.6 (or 234 down to 232 at home)
  • Fat %: 21.9% to 21.6%
  • Chest: 42″ to 42 3/4″
  • Waist: 40″ to 40″
  • Hips: 40 3/4″ to 40 1/4″

Down a bit almost everywhere. And I’m surprised about the additional size in my chest. I’m not the most barrel chested guy in the world, but a little more isn’t a bad thing. πŸ™‚

I’d ideally like to be back down around 215. So I may try to knock down a few more complex carbs (bread, alcohol) in the next month. We’ll see how it goes.

Takeaways

  • Breakfast helps.
  • I think I have a bit more endurance with eating better and I’ve noticed that in several workouts in the last few weeks.
  • And I’ve been able to push through the pain a little more during workouts and/or cut down my pauses between sets or reps a little bit.

Guess we’ll keep going. πŸ™‚

Great work everybody in the Noon class and thanks Isaac and Drea for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

