Thursday Workout

Today I managed to squeak in a morning workout with my wife Evelyn and a bunch of other people… Coach Isaac kept us in line, but we worked with Connie, Lori, Sam, Larry, Dakota & his significant other (Laurie?), Caleb, Danielle, and Marianne… It was a busy morning at Crossfit Continuum!

Olympic weightsWe started with a 500m row (a taste of things to come), then did some cossack squats, sotz press, 1/2 handstand push-ups, and went through the push press motion before figuring out where to start.

Today was a strength day (here’s the workout)… we were supposed to do 7 sets of 3 reps with increasing weight. I worked with Caleb, who got up to 235# today. I managed 185# a couple of times, but we’ll talk about that in a second…

  • 115# x3
  • 125# x3
  • 135# x3
  • 145# x3
  • 155# x3
  • 165# x3
  • 185 #1.5/2

So honestly I felt pretty good through most of it. Managed to get the bar overhead pretty quickly and consistently through 6 rounds. And after Caleb did 235# he suggested I go for 185# for my last set, since my one rep is 195#. So I did.

The first one went pretty well. And the second one went wonky. I felt my core lose tension, which led to the bar going too far behind my head in that locked out overhead position. Though I got it up, I felt my back take the load instead of my whole core. And I wasn’t sure how to bail backwards without breaking my wrists, so I pulled it back forward and dropped in front of me.

It was a little scary to be honest. I wasn’t hurt, but it felt weird. And I called it there. Two reps was good. 🙂

gray_profileAfter all that we were supposed to row 5,000 meters for time. I wasn’t looking forward to it, but figured it would take about 25 minutes (4.5-5 minutes for a thousand meters times 5). But we had so many folks, we broke into four teams and tackled it as a team WOD.

I worked with Caleb again on the row and we were the one two person team; the other three had three people each.

And that went really well. We were supposed to split it up every 500m, so we traded off back and forth. Each time he’d do his in about 1:35 to 1:45 and I’d do mine between 1:45 and 2:00, so we just kept chugging along. We were done in under 21 minutes, which was awesome. I think the actual row time on the rower was under 19 for the 5,000m.

The fact that I’m not a hurting unit right now is a good thing. 🙂

Thanks go to Isaac and Caleb and the whole class. There was a lot of weight flying and rowing going on!

Hope everybody has a great day!

Leave a Reply

