Tuesday Chipper

Yesterday was rough, but I knew I needed to get up and go again today. Why? Because I’m a masochist? Nah. I think it’s because I’m afraid that if I stop the habit (Monday, Tuesday, Thursday at the very least) I’ll back slide…Don’t want that. Though with the Zone Diet, my weight is still on the rise… so maybe I need to do something there after three weeks.

20151020_095633At any rate, I made it in for an 8:30 class at Crossfit Continuum with Coach Drea. We had a good sized class today with Dakota & Annie (?), Maria, Chris, Ashley, and Mike. (Plus Caleb made it in for the 9:30 class today…)

Started with a 500m row or 400m run, then began gathering equipment… kettle-bell, med ball, bar, ab mat, jump rope, box… It was like the 12 Days of Christmas!

We also did some pigs on skates, roll-to-candlesticks, hand-stand hold, push-ups, leg raises, and knees to elbows… And then we talked about the workout itself…

For time:

  • 10 Box Jumps, 42/36″
  • 10 Bar Muscle Ups
  • 20 Kettlebell Snatches #53/35
  • 20 Pistols, Alternating
  • 30 Toes-To-Bar
  • 30 Overhead Squats #75/55
  • 40 Weighted Situps
  • 40 Med Ball Cleans #20/14
  • 50 Burpees
  • 50 Triple Unders

Um. Yay?

20151020_095629Here is how I scaled:

  • 10 step-ups (24″)
  • 10 kipping pull-ups
  • 20 kettle-bell snatches with a 35# kettle-bell
  • 20 pistols, alternating, to the 20″ box
  • 15 toes-to-bar, 15 knees-to-elbows
  • 30 overhead squats (started at 65# and dropped to 45#)
  • 40 weighted sit-ups (20# med ball)
  • 40 med ball cleans (20#)
  • 50 kettle-bell swings (protecting my shoulder)
  • 100 single-unders

Meanwhile I watched people do pistol roll-to-candlesticks, 42″ box jumps, and much more. Everybody was killing it. I was honestly happy just to keep moving. And after last Wednesday’s battle with burpees, I am going to avoid them for a little while to keep from shoving my left shoulder into its socket and killing myself again.

So I was happy that Drea suggested kettle-bell swings instead of burpees. Even those were tough by the end.

It took me 31:45 to complete this ugly thing. Everyone else was between 20 and 30 minutes I think.

The word for the day: SCALING. RX for RX sake is silly. I was ready to complete everything but the burpees and go for another walk like yesterday but Drea suggested the KBS. It was better. 🙂 But it wasn’t a DNF!

Thanks folks for the support and great work everybody! I’m sure Caleb killed it as the lone sufferer in the 9:30 class too!

Have a great day folks!

Leave a Reply

