Mondays are Rough

There are days where your body wants to move and days that it doesn’t. This is definitely one of the latter.

Made it through my two Monday meetings and headed to the 9:30 class at Crossfit Continuum. And today I got to work out with a whole mess of folks, including my wife Evelyn, plus Danielle, Monica & Kaila, Nick & Lisa, Andrea, and Isaac’s sister. And we were coached by Heather, which is always fun. Having Ev, Danielle, and Heather in the same room somehow always gets inappropriate. 🙂

7ef48039a5228f1efa37cc2bfd148471We started with a 500m row, 400m run, or 50 double-unders, then did some pigs-on-skates, a 30-second handstand hold, some marching bridges, slow HSPUs where you count to 3 slowly on the way down and then push up quickly, and a few other odds-n-ends before starting to get our equipment together. My wrists were a little fired up from the handstand work, but I was more worried about my left hip which was giving me some grief.

Today’s WOD involved two bars for everybody involved… one for deadlifts and one for snatches, plus some space on the wall or on a box for some sort of handstand push-up variation, either in pike push-ups or off a box.

The workout was 5 rounds for time of:

  • 225/155-lb. deadlifts, 10 reps
  • 75/55-lb. snatches, 10 reps
  • 10 handstand push-ups
  • 75/55-lb. snatches, 10 reps

I set up for Rx weights, because… why not? 225# deadlifts are heavy, but not impossible. And 75# snatches aren’t bad either. So though I was concerned, I wasn’t overly so.

Got through the first round in about 6 minutes. And the second round took forever. I got through the final 5 snatches and couldn’t convince my body to squat again. Getting down into the deadlift starting position hurt. Getting into the snatch starting position hurt. Kicking up on the wall hurt. Everything hurt.

So I made a decision. I decided to walk away. And I did the mile long path we figured out for Murph. Kept me moving at least. Pain is not my thing.

I’m pissed at my body right now. I should have been able to do the workout. Apparently it thought otherwise. Getting old sucks. Not sure if this is due to the five days in a row last week or was just from not moving enough over the weekend, but either way… Not fun.

DNF. Better luck tomorrow.

Sorry folks. But thanks for cleaning up my bars while I was gone. Sorry I wasn’t all that social when I got back either…

Hope everybody has a good day!

Leave a Reply

